name, value, instead of url in html and php - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Programming
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2004, 01:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 151
Default name, value, instead of url in html and php

I am new to php, and this think blocks my way: how can I replace a url that set for (e.* <a href=...>...) with a name and a value (like html form <input type="select", option... name="var" value="1") or any other way so I can set a specific name to a few link bar and a different value to them, so i can use if-else conditional to determine which link did the user select, note that because i am using image objects like navigation bar etc.
__________________

gohand is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 09:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Send a message via AIM to Harold III
Default

is your problem like, the user select a link, then the information about which link was selected is posted to a php page? what's the purpose of determining which link did the user select?
__________________

__________________
I do this for Aiur. NOT YOU.
Harold III is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 03:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 151
Default

it's like..... you can look at this example test code that i am trying to do
Quote:
.... <body>


[img]big.jpg[/img] 1 2 3
<?php
//addressing error:
ini_set ('display_errors',1);
error_reporting (E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);


$select=$_GET['select'];

if (empty ($select)){
$body=include "hello.php";
}else{
$body=include "example.php";
}
?>
</p>
<table width="100%" border="1" cellpadding="2" cellspacing="2" bordercolor="#000000">
<tr>
<td bordercolor="#000000"><?php print /*try print out this var, but can't*/"$body"; ?></td>
</tr>
</table> ....
though, it's completely wrong in the syntax, i've tried many times, due to i just learn a little php for few days, i am trying to use the $_GET method trick to do it, but now the hardship is: how can i print a variable within a tables?
gohand is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.