Making java games

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr_Threepwood

Daemon Poster
Alright well I'm interested in making a java game and need some advice on how to get started.

First off let me say I'm not just some totally inexperienced person who thinks I can make a 3d game in 5 days.

I've taken java for 2 years at high school and am currently doing the advanced placement programming exam, its on tuesday.

I want to make a game and decided to start out small, like a text based adventure game (it'll be short). The problem is I dont know where to get started. I dont know much about applets, or anything graphical. I do know the base structure of java with inheritance and such.

Doing online guides is ok sometimes, but what I really need is a book on introductory game making, but not one that is for complete beginners. I was looking at a book called java 5 game development and it looked good, but does anyone else have a suggestion?

Woohoo, I'm taking the AP test on Tuesday too. (Except my high school doesn't offer the class, so basically I'm going to fail.) Anyway... I would say start out by learning Swing really well, or any other Java graphics package - the Sun website (http://java.sun.com/products/jfc/) is always a good place to start. Swing is really powerful and pretty simple to learn. I don't really know any good books for it, but I would say the best way to learn it is just to play around, experiment, think of elements that might be useful in a game and figure out how to code them. Also, skim through everything in the API that's part of the javax.swing package.

Also, you might want to check a few books out of your local library to see if any of them will help you out before you buy one since they cost so much. Or if there's a university near you, they usually have community borrower cards or something like that, and a much bigger selection of programming books than public libraries.

Hope this helped. :)