Make a python script that picks up ip's and mac-addresses at the local network - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Programming
Click Here to Login

Old 12-08-2017, 07:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Post Make a python script that picks up ip's and mac-addresses at the local network

I am trying to make a script that can pick up all the ip's and mac-adresses for the ip's at the local network at work, and I am kind of new to programming.
In the first row am I trying to make a script that picks up all the ip's and mac's and get them printed in a xml file, but in the end do I want to make a WOL script for all the pc's I have picked up the mac's for.
I have also been told we want as much as possible of the code in functions, so other scripts can be placed "upon" this one as easy as possible.
I have tried arp -a and alot of other things, but I always come short in ip's and mac addresses, since I do expect max 100 ip's, but get around 10 when I use arp -a...
So if anyone have any tips related to this, I would be more than happy to read it!
Thanks!

Old 12-10-2017, 09:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie

Default Re: Make a python script that picks up ip's and mac-addresses at the local network

Hi,

So you want a script to scan your LAN daily? and output every IP & MAC it finds?

Old 12-10-2017, 10:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default Re: Make a python script that picks up ip's and mac-addresses at the local network

Well, we have alot of computers with simulators, and we need a wake on lan script, so we can run that daily or whenever we need it. For example if we can place the script in the Windows Scheduler so it runs at a specific time every morning.
But yes, I want a script that scans the LAN for all the mac's and ip's and output all of them, then wakes them up.
Old 12-10-2017, 10:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie

Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE