Learning a language..

Status
Not open for further replies.

|Cashew|

Baseband Member
Im 14, and i wanna get into programming. Eventually i want to be able to make wallhacks and bots (autoshooters) for enemy territory, cod and games like that. I know i will need to learn c++ and have done a few tuts but its very confusing for a first timer like me.

is there a better place to start learning?

lol they have a program in my school for windows visual basic and C++ but C++ is for grade 11 i think im dropping the course tho my teacher is an *** hole. he points out why ur question was stupid and shows you how it is so easy to fix... hes an *** tho I BET UR IN THIS FORUM !!! DANM U MR. ROSS

ummm okkkk , w/e ur intitled to ur own opinion, send my thread more off topic.....

Any help of where to starting learning a language????

Why don't you try a book? I learned most of my C++ (which is not much, I'm still a newbie) using Deitel & Deitel.

Here, Amazon link .

Some C++ veterans will say it sux, but they're just puritans. The book is well-written, has a lot of interesting exercises and is very thorough.

Also, if you don't have the money, get a used copy of the fourth edition. Heck, I have the second edition, and it's very good.

is there a better place to start learning?
Yes, try a book. Several people recommend Deitel & Deitel, but I don't. I'm sure it's a fine book, but it is expensive and is generally used as a college text. Also, it is over 1500 pages. Probably the best C++ book you can get for a beginner is "Accelerated C++ " by Andrew Koenig, who was also on the C++ standards committee. Weighing in at only 336 pages, it uses an alternative approach to learning C++. It teaches you the most useful concepts first, rather than the most primitive. It is well-respected in the C++ community, and has been proven successful at Stanford University.