c++ question

Status
Not open for further replies.

ac3ofsk13s

Solid State Member
im new to programming and i was wonderinf if it is possible for me to start off with the c language or would you suggest somethnig else

Yup, you sure can. I did a little bit work with QBASIC when I started programming, but honestly, it didn't really matter. My "2nd" language was C. But, I might have as well started with that one. It's really easy to pick-up and make simple programs with.

Of course, C is a very advanced language, but the basics are simple. You can learn at your own pace :).. Just to clarify, I think you should start with "C" first and then do "C++" after. Pick up an old "C" book from the local book store. I am sure they are really cheap.

Well, that way you won't get dragged into any discussion about Object Oriented Programming. Even if they "divide" the book into 2 sections (pre-OO and OO), it's bound to be talked about "at least a little bit".. I suggested C first b/c then that will never happen.

Plus, I find that "C" books are good at "teaching C" than C++ books. Those books put a lot of emphasis on the fundamental. Which is nice.

In an ideal world with all the time that you need I would learn C then C++ or Java, this would give you a great programming base. I normally write in Java now because the same program can run on different platforms eg. Windows/UNIX/linux etc. It is tempting to ask what sort of programs you want to write, this would make it easier to suggest a language, but if you are starting out then you probably won't know enough to answer. That's why C or atleast the basic concepts from C are worth learning first. They will stand you on good ground for most other languages anyway, especially C++ and/or Java. Hope this helps.

duncan said: