C# Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

WWS

In Runtime
I am using C# in visual studio 2005 and working on a windows project. I need to get a bunch of data in to a list box for a user. The user would then be able to delete data selecting the row and then double click on the selection.

As far as the data that need to be shown in the list box, I was thinking of creating a text document containing the data and linking the data to the list box. When the project runs the data is automatically shown in the list box.

Is there something other than a list box that should be used?

Please help me get started on this. Thanks.

You can use whatever control you want. If you have a list of data in your text file, then a list box sounds like a reasonable choice. If it's a paragraph, then no, it doesn't make sense to display it as a list.

I am new to programming so where do I start to get the list of data into the list box? Also each row of data has multiple colums as well. So I would need to display it like this:

xxxxx yyyyy zzzzz

Here is some code I wrote to populate a list box from a text file but the text file is not populating when executed. At this time I am only testing out how to populate a single colum of data. Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong. Thanks.

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.ComponentModel;
using System.Data;
using System.Drawing;
using System.Text;
using System.Windows.Forms;
using System.IO;

namespace List Box Populate
{
public partial class Form1 : Form
{
public Form1()
{
InitializeComponent();
}

private void listBox1_SelectedIndexChanged(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
StreamReader objReader = new StreamReader("c:\\data.txt");
string sLine = "";

while (sLine != null)
{
sLine = objReader.ReadLine();
if (sLine != null)

listBox1.Items.Add(sLine);
}
objReader.Close();

}
}
}