C i need help

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been programming for about 7 years and CS in college is very easy for me because i've already learnt most of the stuff. People in my class talked about CS1A being the most difficult class they have ever taken. I nearly went insane because it was too easy, newbies can't learn fast.

This guy also has to learn his other subjects so he definitely needs to stay on track and if he has spare time he can explore C in more detail. I am sure he has not gone over the STL yet so he needs to understand how things work before he can use the STL.

I learned this stuff in my high school programming classes, so its not really super difficult. AP Computer Science deals with this kind of stuff pretty extensively, but I dealt with it in Intro to C Programming.

If he's in a CS degree program at a university, he's going to be expected to pick it up much faster than a high school course.

I've been programming for 10 years or so, and I am finishing up my final semester (5th year) in my BS in Computer Science. I never was forced to take a language course in college, it was just expected that you already knew it. If I had to wait to do all that stuff before I took my core classes, I'd never finish even a semester late like I'm doing now.

People who think CS1 classes are hard and who are majoring in CS should probably think about a degree change. I can tell you that only 20% of people who declare CS at my university actually graduate as such. The courses thin out, from CS1 at 300+ students, to senior level classes at 25 or so students each.

How far are you in your CS education?