C# (C sharp) or Python?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shade_

Solid State Member
So, I'm actually an independent 3D character/level modeler and soundtrack composer, and recently I'm nearly finished with one of the first game projects. I want it to be able to have net/internet play for multilayer. And I've been looking around and apparently I would need a server for it. I'm completely clueless on these things but it seems like creating a server isn't too hard, but it does require some programming knowledge in order to set up, which I don't have. So I've decided to learn one in order to set this up.

I've been asking around what language would be best for a beginning programmer if I'm trying to set up a server. So far I've heard good things about Python, and another friend said that C sharp takes care of a lot of problems that C++ and C had. And C++ is apparently one of the languages that is used in today's professional world. (Which as a college student in debt, might come in handy), I don't know if I want to use python if all I can do is create servers with it.

Also, between the two languages. Which of those two languages would be best if I decided to do things related to game design such as. Creating a menu, putting 3D objects in virtual space and, designing interactive bots for people to interact with?

Sorry for the long post, but I'm really looking at this quite seriously. Thank you for your time!

C# is rarely used in game development. You can create a game server with it very easily however.

Python, on the other hand is used quite a bit in games, second only to C++ which has about 99% of the game development share, and can be used to create applications for web and local machines.

What programming knowledge do you have so far?