Stop GPU client from autorunning. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Member's Area > Folding @ Home
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2010, 09:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Stop GPU client from autorunning.

The GPU client obviously has some sort of run when boot. I want to turn this off on my new laptop. I have W7 x64 and it's client GPU 3 i believe.

Thanks Guys
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 09:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Stop GPU client from autorunning.

You either set it as a service, so check the service tab in the admin control panel, or got a s/c in startup.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 11:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Stop GPU client from autorunning.

I can't find anything in service that looks like the culprit...
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 09-22-2010, 11:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Stop GPU client from autorunning.

Which client is it? console or systay, or nothing showing.

I'd run through the config setup.... if its console, its with the -configonly flag when you stArtup the client..
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-22-2010, 03:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Stop GPU client from autorunning.

It's systray so is there anyway to do something similar.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 09-22-2010, 03:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Stop GPU client from autorunning.

Double check it didn't get stuck into the startup folder... theres gotta be a reason it runs at boot.

I don't run gpu3 as my cards don't always agree with it. You can try looking in the systray icon configure tab.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-24-2010, 05:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Stop GPU client from autorunning.

I can't find anything lol. It's kind of funny but honestly it's only a minor inconvenience. I just hate wondering why my biggest school investment is lagging on Autodesk apps and than realizing I'm folding lol
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 09-24-2010, 11:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Stop GPU client from autorunning.

Its soo weird that is running.... Honestly it'd scare me knowing something was "just" running on its own..... I'll ask around on ff.org.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 09:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Stop GPU client from autorunning.

ok so i was cleaning my disks and checking the registry on CCleaner and i stumbled upon a tool i hadn't noticed before it gave me a list of startup programs and I was able to disable the autostart of the gpu client from there. I'll let you know if nothing changes but thanks Patonb.
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to set up smp client? wafflehammer Folding @ Home 59 02-18-2009 05:51 PM
Any Client a Web Based FTP Client Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 03-10-2008 06:59 AM
STOP: STOP:OxOOOOOO7F(OxOOOOOOOD,OxOOOOOOOO,OxOOOOOOOO,O xOOOOOOOO) botcom Microsoft Windows and Software 6 09-18-2007 09:12 PM
shortcuts on desktop stop working, reboot comp, then they work, then stop... WTF?? camosilver311 Microsoft Windows and Software 11 06-11-2006 09:20 PM
Best FTP Client Zehlek Microsoft Windows and Software 9 05-31-2003 01:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.