Interesting "folding vs network" problem. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Member's Area > Folding @ Home
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2010, 03:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Interesting "folding vs network" problem.

I recently got a new Belkin 300N Router for obvious reasons. (i was using a 54g )
Now when I fold on my gpu and sometimes cpu my network card denies my networks existence. I can connect to other networks but not my own. The second I stop folding I'm back on the net.
fixes?
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 07-26-2010, 03:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Interesting "folding vs network" problem.

did get any new antivirus software?
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 07-26-2010, 03:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Interesting "folding vs network" problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmammen View Post
did get any new antivirus software?
Why yes I just moved from AVG to MSE actually. How would I go about fixing this.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 07-26-2010, 03:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Interesting "folding vs network" problem.

First i would have stayed with AVG, but to each his own. Makes sure automatic updates are turned off, make sure the firewall is not blocking any F@H processes- all the basic checks. Did this start when you got the new router? or after you switched AV progs?

Then, i would suggest re-installing your folding client, either SMB or the gpu one.

Also, F@H runs way more solid with a constant Ethernet connection, just a suggestion.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 07-26-2010, 04:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Interesting "folding vs network" problem.

Well I've heard good things about both avg and mse as far as free goes so I was just giving it a taste. Can't go wrong with personal experience.

OK so for sure Its the gpu client I've given it all the green lights in mse and reloaded the client. no go.
I have the same problem on my folding/internet rig though that pc isn't running a gpu anymore so it doesnt matter it runs the cpu without a stitch.

Ethernet is a possible fix but I enjoy the creature comforts of wireless and It's not an issue of bandwidth when I'm running 300N dualband wireless on my main rig so I'd rather work around it
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 07-26-2010, 04:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Interesting "folding vs network" problem.

re-install belkin drivers?
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 07-26-2010, 04:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Interesting "folding vs network" problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmammen View Post
re-install belkin drivers?
plug n play
only has setup program and than its set

and I have reinstalled my wifi card drivers too in case thats what you meant
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 07-26-2010, 04:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Interesting "folding vs network" problem.

what wifi card do you have? that could help
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 07-26-2010, 04:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Interesting "folding vs network" problem.

its a netgear wnda3100v2. Thats off the top of my head so if its wrong I apologize.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 07-26-2010, 04:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Interesting "folding vs network" problem.

u may need to set a static ip for your router with DHCP turned off, belkin doesnt always do it automatically, search google for how to do this with your specific router....,
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard to diagnose internet problem theorigamist Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 02-18-2009 12:32 AM
Problem possible power supply? KevinH Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 17 02-14-2009 12:12 AM
interesting little problem bigdan HijackThis Logs (finished) 7 02-03-2008 08:25 PM
interesting problem, related to my graphics card (i think) dweeb Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-02-2007 09:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.