ATi Folding Issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Member's Area > Folding @ Home
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2010, 01:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default ATi Folding Issues

Is anyone else having problems with ATi folding? Mine has been going pretty well for a while but now I can't get it to fold at all. The logs give an Unstable Machine error before it even starts folding and I've tried deleting the Work folder, old core exe, logs, and queue.dat, this has worked in the past but now does nothing. My machine is a single 5870 and I have a shortcut that forces the GPU, I'm using Catalyst 10.6, and I'm also running SMP. I had it slightly overclocked (875 core/1220 RAM) but I set it back to default and it still won't fold. It's not the card as any other GPU activity works fine (gaming, benchmarks, etc).
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 07-05-2010, 02:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: ATi Folding Issues

It seems youre not alone, theres so discussions on FF.org on it right now.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-06-2010, 10:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: ATi Folding Issues

I've tried everything, I've reinstalled F@H, tried the GPU3 client (even if GPU3 doesn't support ATi, it still downloads GPU2 WU's for ATi cards and detects the 5xxx properly), reinstalled drivers after driver sweep/CCleaner to remove traces of the old ones, going to stock clocks, it just won't run any WU's. Is the ATi server broken?
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 07-07-2010, 11:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: ATi Folding Issues

Theyve been having issues and are slowly getting it fixed.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 08:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: ATi Folding Issues

I registered on FoldingForum too, reported the work unit I had and it seems to be running fine again now after it picked up a different work unit.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 FAQ and Questions KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 1600 03-04-2013 10:29 PM
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-11-2010 11:32 PM
AMD ATI Radeon Tray Tool Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 1 01-07-2010 07:11 PM
AMD ATI Radeon HD 5970 Video Card Muffin Man New Technology and Products 13 11-24-2009 07:38 AM
ATI Class Action HDCP Litigation Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 06-16-2009 09:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.