Zero Condenstation refrigerator PC cooling real? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2007, 10:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Default Zero Condenstation refrigerator PC cooling real?

I remember reading a while back in a post from a video editor that there is a refrigerator specially designed for electronics which controls condensation therefore keeping the heat out, and the sound in.

It sounded like a brilliant idea, because with a small hole for the mouse and keyboard wires, (then seal up the open spaces or whatnot) you are running on super low temps with no risk of leaks, or noise at all. It also seems convenient, and possibly cheap?

Can anyone confirm such a fridge's existence, or something similar?
__________________

Jeuk is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 11:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

perhaps you mean vapour phase change cooling?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 11:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Apokalipse
perhaps you mean vapour phase change cooling?
What did you call me?
Jeuk is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 11:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

vapor phase change cooling is what makes a refrigerator cold. it is used in electronics by making putting the part that getts really cold directly on the cpu... u need to use gell to keep condensation from shorting the mobo. i'll talk more about this later
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 12:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cwiz
vapor phase change cooling is what makes a refrigerator cold. it is used in electronics by making putting the part that getts really cold directly on the cpu... u need to use gell to keep condensation from shorting the mobo. i'll talk more about this later
How much does an efficient, decent system of these things cost, and considering I've never even installed a simple water cooling structure, would I ever be able to install this one?
Jeuk is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 11:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Around 1000$.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 12:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

you can get a custom built phase unit for about 400-500, aor find a used one for between 300 and 400

No point buying a low performance Asetek one...
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 01:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jeuk
What did you call me?
??

err, I didn't call you anything..

anyway, you can get Asetek Vapochill ones, but they're not the best.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 01:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Are phase change systems directly on the die, or is a block used?
__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 06:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Default

Are they really very super difficult to install, and if I make a mistake will everything explode?
__________________

Jeuk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.