Zalman Reserator problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2005, 08:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default Zalman Reserator problem

Hello there! I'm new to these forums. I'm not even sure if I'm posting to the right place.

I have a problem with my new Zalman Reserator 1 water cooling system. I've bought it recently and it is up and running, but its efficiency is troubling me.

My config is an ASUS A7V600 Motherboard with an AMD Athlon XP 3000+ Barton CPU at its default speed of 2166Mhz. I also have a GeXCube Radeon 9600XT videocard. I have a Zalman CPU water block and a water block for the GPU.

I have ASUS probe (v2.24) installed. I can monitor my CPU temperature with it. After I turn on the system it shows around 30°C. Then I leave my computer as it is (Windows desktop) with no CPU activity and after an hour or so it heats up to about 65°C. I think this is already abnormal... When I start using it for 3D applications like 3D games then the temperature keeps getting higher to about 76°C and even 80°C. Sometimes the system freezes at this point (in a figurative sense ) and that's no surprise.

If I'm right then this is not as it is supposed to be. If I understand it correctly the CPU should not be allowed to work at a temperature of 60°C or higher for a long period of time. This shortens the life of the CPU dramatically (as I've heard).

The Reserator circulates 2.5 liter destilled water.

What did I do wrong? What can I do to fix this?

Thank you for your answers in anticipation!

TAAnderson is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 09:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him

You might not have your block on there sufficiently. Maybe you used too much thermal paste when applying your block. 60ºC is not THAT high, it's not really enough to cause concern, unless it goes alot above that. I would look at your thermal paste application.

Him is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 12:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
aspire's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308

you did use thermal paste right?
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.


The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 04:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3

Yes I used it. Well.... back when I had a CPU fan I used too much thermal paste. Now I was more careful. I only applied a minimum.

There is something I forgot to say: I think that one of the component was faulty. I couldn't screw one of the two bolts in completely that clamps the CPU water block to the CPU. As a matter of fact, I could hardly screw it in at all. Something was wrong with the screw-thread. I used pincers to force it into it's place (I'm aware that this was not a good idea, but I was desperate But I checked it afterwards and it seemed to be quite stable. I couldn't move it vertically. The only difference is that the water block is not clamped to the CPU with too much force, but I would say that it is as close to the CPU as it can be. It is possible however that the thermal paste was somewhat cleared from the CPU's surface during the "clamping process".

So the constant 65°C would be acceptable if it was the maximum when I use the CPU at 100%.
TAAnderson is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 05:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

How is 60C not 'THAT' high for a 3000+ barton him.....

60C and up to 65C on full load is way too high especially for water cooling even though I know that this particular system isn't the best. A stock heatsink should be producing nothing higher than 55C

Your block needs to be making a good amount of contact to the CPU....quite a few pounds of pressure is acceptable....the new AMD64's can withstand like up to 70lbs of pressure on the CPU and be ok...however with your XP since the core exposed it's much less than that.

If your block isn't making good contact you need to somehow fix it or get it replaced.
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 03:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3

OK. Thanks! I'll try to tighten the screw even harder... I hope my mb won't crack. If that doesn't work I will add more thermal paste to see if it helps.

TAAnderson is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.