Zalman cnps7000a-cu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2004, 02:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 29
Default Zalman cnps7000a-cu

Today i bought this HS after readin mnany great reviews on it for $65AUD i was so exited Until when i opend the cassing i noticed a 1 mm offset on the base of the HS where the CPU and HS connect! THIS IS SOOOO ANNOYIN and because im busy at work i am not able to retern it till Friday/Saterday this week.

Has Anyone else experinced this problem with the zalman cnps7000a-cu?

El_Smee

*Blood Pressure Riseing, Tempriture Boiling, Rage Building*
__________________

El_Smee is offline  
Old 10-17-2004, 05:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Every article I've read on that thing says you should check the dimensions before buying it because it is indeed a huge HS. I can't really visualize what you are talking about, don't suppose you could get a picture? But yeah basically everything I've heard about that HS is, is that it doesn't necessarily fit on everyboard because of transistors or things like that getting in the way, so you might be SOL, but checking dimensions is always a must
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 10-17-2004, 06:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 29
Default



this picture is oviously of the same heatsink without the same problem as mine

On my base plate there is a 1mm offset in the centre an overhang as such (a lip) so the surface is not flat

i dont think it would effect myself becauswe of the socect 478 connection i have the base of the HS has to fit in the cage provided but for some of the AMD usees this may be an issue

P.S plz deleat the bellow post i did it by accident
El_Smee is offline  
Old 10-17-2004, 07:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 29
Default

.
El_Smee is offline  
Old 10-17-2004, 07:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Your picture didn't work.
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-18-2004, 05:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 29
Default

r u serious that is strange im srry i did post a picture up im not quite sure why it aint showing up

heres the url

bjorn3d.com/Material/Images/394_zalman-surface.jpg
__________________

El_Smee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.