zalman 7700 cu vs fx55 stock? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2005, 01:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo
Default zalman 7700 cu vs fx55 stock?

ok i went out and bought a zalman 7700 today and i hooked it up and all but i dont notice any temp differances really. i know this is solid copper instead of amd's aluminum stock thing but is it really any better? i have the fan all the way up and i still se almost no differance maybe 1 or 2 degrees celcius.
__________________

__________________
Charbo is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 01:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

are you using arctic silver 5 thermal paste?

you mighta applied the thermal paste wronG?
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 01:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo
Default

ya im using as5 but i dont know if i put enough on i dont really know how to do it well when it comes to thermal paste
__________________
Charbo is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 01:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Put a small grain of the paste in the middle of the core, put the heatsink on, rotate one degree and secure. It'll take a couple days to set in.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 01:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo
Default

hmm well how would i know if its enough? i was told to spread it out with a plastic bag or such...i knew it took a while to set but i figured i should still see a differance...
__________________
Charbo is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 01:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to Nissanspecv04
Default

well I hope yours cools better then mine, I didnt get the as5 sadly I got the artic ceramic with the zalman 7700 by mistake but my cpu temp at idle is 42 celcius and at load it jumps from 52 to 60 at times(while in an ac room of 77 degrees). Im thinking of getting the thermalright xp90c since Ive heard fo much better cooling with it. Anyways good luck with your cooling
Nissanspecv04 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 01:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo
Default

well this blows i sure am glad i have like a 7 day tryout warrenty so i can take it back:|
__________________
Charbo is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 01:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo
Default

how can something so big and solid copper be crappy though its strange i was getting just as good temps as this with the stock hsf :| and thats aluminum with a copper base and a few heatpipes.
__________________
Charbo is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 03:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Thats weird dude. My XP-120 helped a bunch. Granted I don't like Zalman but it should at least give you some change in temps...

Reaply the paste again I guess, that or Asus's temp readings suck balls.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 03:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo
Default

nah i tried it with my own meter too i just got it today so ill take it back tomorrow it was just sorta temporarry anyway till i get my watercooling so its not to bad i guess =/
__________________

__________________
Charbo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.