You guys think SLI will be necessary in the future? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2005, 01:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 187
Default

190 AMD 64 3200
100 Corsair Value 2x512
144 Abit AN8
93 WD 120GB SATA
183 EVGA Nvidia GeForce 6600 GT
75 Antec 430W

all this is 785 on newegg, you'll need a case,mouse,keyboard, drives, and speakers
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Shark
OCZ 700W GameXStream
Asus M2N32 SLI
AM2 X2 5600
Corsair XMS 2x1GB
Western Digital Raptor 150 GB
2xBFG 7950GT
AZNRockThis is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

3200 AMD winnie is both a good chip and a good overclocker....As well it's good for your budget range. If you're looking into good graphics cards, i'd also find a PCIe board....the one suggested up there (point up) is pretty good for your price. Then a 6600 GT...about $180...and RAM; 512 or 1 gig...hmm....1 gig, that's about $125.

So... (approx pricing)
3200 Winchester 64-bit - $180
That mobo - $180
6600 GT - $180
RAM - $125
120 gig HD - $80
now you have $255 left to buy drives (hijack one off your Dell if you wanna save money) a case and fans. While you're taking off stuff off your beloved dell...take your keyboard, moniter, and mouse, and speakers.
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 03:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

SLI is just a fad
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:36 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 158
Default

would this case and power supply be good to house all that, with a little overclocking
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE
stevedub is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 06:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

The case is nice, but the power supply will most likely give you problems.

Get a seperate case without power supply like a cheap thermaltake td-420AD

I have basicly what was mentioned above, but with 14 fans total and another hard drive. And I OC, ALOT.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 08:10 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 158
Default

but how do you know if a psu is good or not? I just don't know what to look for
stevedub is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 08:29 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AZNRockThis
190 AMD 64 3200
100 Corsair Value 2x512
144 Abit AN8
93 WD 120GB SATA
183 EVGA Nvidia GeForce 6600 GT
75 Antec 430W

all this is 785 on newegg, you'll need a case,mouse,keyboard, drives, and speakers
i wouldn't go cheap on the ram, but that's me (i HAD kingston value rams, which were a nightmare and sucked real bad; one was faulty, the other one wouldn't even boot, got it replaced with 2 more, one corrupted my windows, the other freezes my comp after few seconds of use)

right now i have 2 sticks of geil value ram (yes, still value ram, but it costs about $20 more than kingston and hasn't ever given me troubles)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 08:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hinrichisgod
what exactly is SLI and whats it stand for? - is it just running to video cards simultaneously?
it is two exact video cards working as a whole. scaleable link interface is what it stands for
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 05:39 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 187
Default

i have the same corsair ram and it works amazing, corsair is a very good company when it comes to ram. not one problem with it
__________________
Thermaltake Shark
OCZ 700W GameXStream
Asus M2N32 SLI
AM2 X2 5600
Corsair XMS 2x1GB
Western Digital Raptor 150 GB
2xBFG 7950GT
AZNRockThis is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 09:37 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stevedub
but how do you know if a psu is good or not? I just don't know what to look for
the brand, the reviews, the amps @ 12V
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.