yay phase change is on the way. - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2006, 03:45 PM   #51 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

yay right before leaving for home, got it to post
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 08:11 AM   #52 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jseber1982
one thing though cwiz... the tube that goes from the unit to the cpu is in a sleeve... it has wire wrapped around inside it.. Is that to prevent kinking or is a wire that heats up to prevent condensation?

The bios says it is still at subzero.. yet the block is super hot. And the condenser is still at Negative 47C
sorry about not responding... the wire is so the tube doesnt kink. i doubt it heats up

when you say the bios says it is at subzero, im guessing you mean your processor. by "the block is super hot" do you mean the top of the block on the cpu?
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 10:10 AM   #53 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

the compressor is subzero,, says on the display on the prometia unit.. the bios says that the cpu is subzero also.. the prometia pipe,, and the block on top of the cpu( evaporator?) i thats what its called.... that is super hot also
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 01:49 PM   #54 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

one thing after another with this **** thing. no matter what sata port.. either single drive, or raided with multiple, it blue screens when it gets to the drive setup screen in winxp setup blahh. and yes iu have the most updated drivers on floppy
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 02:03 PM   #55 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

You're getting BSOD at stock speeds?
The General is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 02:55 PM   #56 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

turns out my mem timings werent set right by default. i got windows installed now. loading up some stuff, will do benchmarks first thing in the morning
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 03:02 PM   #57 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

awwwww, imma have to wait a whole nother day for benchmarks!!!! pshh... my conroe system may be running in another day!!!! ... i'll be too busy benchmarking my system
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 08:06 AM   #58 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

if the block on top of the cpu is called the 'evaporator' then the system is pumping high pressure refrigerent to the block. there is an expansion valve right before the block that makes the refrigerant go from a high pressure liquid to a low pressure gas. this 'phase change' absorbs a large amount of energy at a very low temperature. the high temps that you are feeling may be the high pressure liquid. when the vapor is recompressed to a liquid, its temperature will go up, but it is the energy removed from the refrigerent via coils (i.e. the coils on the back of the frig) that will allow it to remove more heat from the cpu. just because the refrigerent is hot at a given point does not mean that it will not abosorb energy from the cpu.

that is my best stab at an explaination for why the top of your block is hot while the cpu is subzero.
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 11:07 AM   #59 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

yea that makes sense totally. I can feel a few spots on the hose where it is cool. So i guess one hot line and one cool line in the hose.,
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 11:08 AM   #60 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

this mobo is odd. I have 2 sticks of 512 in and it runs great, if i put 2 more 512 sticks in, it wont boot into windows. identical memory
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.