Xtremely oc'ed P4 cedar mill vs an AMD Athlon 64 3700+ - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2006, 08:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

I thought the world record for a P4 was a hyperthreading P4 in japan and it was at like 7.5 GHz or a little more. I thought I've also heard plans of 8 GHz. I know that I've seen more than 7 GHz.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 08:16 PM   #12 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

ya that p4 would kill most things right now. intel definitely has an advantage there! just wait for the conroes. a conroe oc'd with liquid nitro clocked at 7GHz OMG. lol
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 08:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Yeah but what could you possibly need that much power for? That's just being greedy, it's like the graphics setup in that new dell "gaming" PC. 3 or even OC'd to 4 GHz will run anything you throw at it smoothly why the need for 7? That's just silly to me and causes a huge heat problem.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 08:44 PM   #14 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

well ya i dont think they do it to run games better tho. its just a status thing. and i dunno about the heat prob considering nitrogen has to be at least -193C to be completely liquid.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 08:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Its probably not stable enough to run much on it.

That thing would kill a 3700 easily. My 3700@2.95GHz has a P-rating of 4835, almost 1200 less than that P4.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 07:44 PM   #16 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

ya they should show if its able to run anything on it. games on that would be smoother than an fx60
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.