XPS Gen 5 case window - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2006, 05:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default XPS Gen 5 case window

I was wondering if it was possible to put a case window on an XPS Gen 5. I wasn't sure because of the way the case opens (it opens like a clam shell, with a handle on the back). Any comments would be appreciated, thanks.
__________________

hilashc is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 02:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default

PLEASE someone respond. I really need some help with this
__________________

hilashc is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 02:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Default

i would help but ive never seen that case exept for some pics i saw ages ago so...
__________________

- Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz 1.33v -
- G.Skill 4Gb DDR2 @ 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15 -
- XFX 5850 @ Stock -
- Gigabtye GA-G33M-DS2R -
- Intel X-25V 40Gb Solid State -
- Corsair 520HX 520Watts -
- Cooler Master CM690 -
El_Roberto is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 04:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default

this is a pic of an older xps system, but the case opens in the exact same way as seen in the picture



i would also like the window to go on the right side of the case, so it is not the side which folds open.
hilashc is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 04:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 112
Default

might be difficult, for most cases the right side (looking at the front) is usually a big sheet of metal used to mount the motherboard on. If you DID put a window in, you wouldn't see much.

Although I have NO experience with dells, any I deal with are custom built, either by me or a friend,
fangs2000 is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 04:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default

alright thx alot
hilashc is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 05:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

are you going to put it on the side that opens just on the right half of it? You could just cut out a area on the panle where nothing is mounted and mount a piece of plexi glass in it.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 06:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default

i was wanting to put it on the right side of the case, when ur looking at the front. thats the side that dosnt fold out
hilashc is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 08:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Yeah, if anything, you're gonna have to mod it yourself. Nobody deals with custom dell parts.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 10:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default

alright, thanks for all the help
__________________

hilashc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.