Xp-m!! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2005, 09:20 AM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
KorKwin's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293

I don't know if that bridge mod would do any good. My mult is already unlocked but isn't helping me much at all...

It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 01:15 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204

My athlon Xp Barton will top 2.4ghz with better cooling.

I am either going to upgrade to Athlon 2600+ Xp-M or 939-Venice setup. What do think I should do?

Does the Venice have an unlocked multiplier?

What 939 mobo would i buy for under $120?

ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 03:53 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

Mobile just means the processor works at .2 volts less than a normal CPU, that's the only difference.
it's .2 iv it's a 45w, mine is .3 down from stock......also the diff would be an unlocked multi.

Ace - the only 64's that have unlocked multis are the FX series 64's.......the rest of the 64s can only lower their multi but not raise it.
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 03:56 PM   #24 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782

a mobile cpu has a unlocked multiplier DJ-Chris
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 04:15 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

True that too
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 04:38 AM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

all non-FX Athlon 64's can lower their multiplier (but not raise it) from stock

it is often good to lower the multiplier and raise the FSB
that doesn't raise the amount you can overclock the core frequency, but you get more memory bandwith.

Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.