XFX 6800GS Pipes Unlocked!!!! Hurray!! - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2006, 07:26 PM   #31 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I do. You have to have Coolbits installed to have the extra settings in the Nvidia tab and also to have the temperature monitor. I have both installed. Coolbits OCing is just sitting there but im using Rivatuner to OC my card.
I don't think you need coolbits just for the temp. However I know for a fact I haven't gone out of my way to install coolbits, yet I have temp and clock adjustments in the nvidia display.......could simply be from the latest drivers already having them or after installing rivatuner or something, not sure
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 07:50 PM   #32 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

I believe if you install Rivatuner it puts it there. Not sure, im just in the habbit of installing Coolbits before i install Rivatuner so idk. I never check beforehand.
Quote:
Your GT would be better than an AGP OC'd GS...but an OC'd PCI-E GS has you beat...even with your GT OC'd.
AAAHAHA I dont think so. My GT is not only flashed to Ultra and OCed beyond that but i also have 4 more pipes cranking then the GS. I think you need to redo your math man.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 10:07 PM   #33 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
AAAHAHA I dont think so. My GT is not only flashed to Ultra and OCed beyond that but i also have 4 more pipes cranking then the GS. I think you need to redo your math man.
Nah, it's true. Assuming you get a nice overclockable GS, it can indeed beat out a GT regardless of how high your overclock is.....I mean of course unless you're doing serious volt modding and LN2 cooling or something, but under normal circumstances is what I'm referring to.

Even with the lack of pipelines that GS can be overclocked like mad and infact beat out our GT's. Mine is at 450/1200 personally and yes some GS's can infact beat those. The flashing to Ultra really doesn't do anything except increase chances of your card dying since it puts .1 extra volts through it and it's not necessarily made to handle that. Beyond that some argue that the GT infact has tighter memory timings, however, as to what they are I couldn't tell you because the Vram memory timings are nothing like a regular system memory's timings.

But yeah........overall as lame as it sounds, the GS even with 4 less pipes, it's overclockability on some of the cards is ridiculous (on the PCI-E) and will infact beat our cards. I know it sucks, but it's true.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 12:09 AM   #34 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

Im talking about AGP here though, so HA lol. When i get my 7800GS then i will be doing some serious OCing w/ a WC system in my LAN rig.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 12:30 AM   #35 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Im talking about AGP here though, so HA lol. When i get my 7800GS then i will be doing some serious OCing w/ a WC system in my LAN rig.
Yeah and look at what he said "Your GT would be better than an AGP, but not the PCI-E" so your comment was for nothing if you were supposedly talking about the "AGP" and laughing at the dude considering he was specifically talking about the PCI-E
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 12:50 AM   #36 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

Yea im an idiot so w/e lol. I wasnt paying attention because i was on the phone while i was doing most of my posts on here.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 12:57 AM   #37 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default

hey thanks for doing my arguing for me nubius! much appreciated! lol
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 03:45 PM   #38 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

Suck up [/sarcasm]
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 06:38 PM   #39 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Default

Anyone have any thoughts on what a 7800GTX user should use for OCing? I know you will all flame me for OCing with a 7800GTX but what the heck why not. I currently have coolbits installed and used that to OC a bit, but do you think I would be better off with RivaTuner?

Edit: My last 3dmark05 was at about 8900 so I am trying to break the 9K mark
__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 09:18 PM   #40 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

Rivatuner or Coolbits, dosent matter.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.