XFX 6800GS Pipes Unlocked!!!! Hurray!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2006, 10:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default

So this is on AGP right?
__________________

__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 10:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

Well I've got the ones from guru 3d, still cant unlock. When I unlock them the screen is all distorted, o well I'll just overclock it since EVGA is pretty nice about warranty. Do they actually not care if you OC, or do you mean that you just tell them "umm yea I didn't overclock it at all..."?
__________________

__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 10:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

EVGA i've heard are great warranty wise. I'm pretty sure they allow anything as long as you don't drop the thing on the floor. So OC Threepwood and give us some 3dmark05 scores and we'll see how they compare to mine. Unlocked Pipes vs. Locked Pipes LOL!

Twizted - Yes this is the AGP version. The PCI-E version is not able to unlock, only AGP.

Threepwood - Download coolbits and try to OC using that, instead of Rivatuner.
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 11:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

i thought that you cant unlock the 6800GS. i posted something about them unlocking and a few people told me they dont unlock. how many pipes does it unlock to?
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 11:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

becareful when you oc it

XFX often pre overclock their cards

dont go too far at once
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 11:22 PM   #16 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

unlocking the pipes unlocks 4 more pipes, so you get 16.... i am so jealous of the agp version... although this 6800gs pci-e is still excellent!
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 12:00 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

Nos- I won't be buying a new system for another 1 1/2 (which will be AMD and PCI-E) and wanted a Good card for the time being but if not for that i would of went pci-e.

Zuccini- Take a look here.......

http://forum.ncix.com/forums/index.p...d=0#msg1009459

or here

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?threadid=165890

bonehelm- Ahhhh!!! You under estimate XFX, fantastic cards....I OC my 6600GT to 567 / 1147 and scored a 3746 in 3dmark05 (I'm sure you know but thats a very good OC) And they have a double lifetime warranty so even the person you sell it too will have a full warranty.
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 12:06 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

how do you unlock it?
__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 12:15 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

iam - using Rivatuner. Here's a guide

Kckazdude 12-06-2004 02:06 PM
Unlocking 6800 pipelines with RivaTuner

If you recently purchased a 6800 card in the hopes of unlocking the pipes and clocking it up for some bonus performance, you might have run into the same problem I recently did. There seems to be a lack of a help file in the RivaTuner. Hopefully, I will be able to answer many of the questions you have in this thread and help you get the the pipes unlocked and the most stable overclock out of your new card. As with any OC, as long as we got what we paid for, a 6800NU with 5 vertex units and 3 pixel units enabled, anything else is bonus. You may or may not be able to get all pipes unlocked and working stable.

*Edit
It has been reported that you can also unlock pixel pipelines on the 6200 AGP version cards. These are the NV43 based cards. Stock, they come with 4 pixel pipelines and 3 vertex shaders. After the mod, you can enable 8 pixel pipelines. Accoring to this post by pxc the steps are the same for both cards. One thing to note is that coming out of hibernation mode resets the pipeline masking, so a reboot is necessary to re-enable all 8 pipelines.

The first order of buisness is to update the drivers and make sure everything is stable enough to move forward. Next download a copy of RivaTuner and install.

Expand the first context menu and select Low-level system settings
.

Click on the NVStrap dirver tab at the top and make sure the box is checked for 'Allow enabling hardware masked units'. Click yes when the pop-up box comes up.

Then select the 'Customize tab' .

In the columns, you will be able to see which pipes are HW masked and which are not. You can add and remove the checkmarks next to the pies here. Just check the ones that are hardware masked and select 'OK'. Slect 'OK' again to get back to the main window of RivaTuner. At this point you should be prompted to restart. Once restarted, if all was well, you should see in the main RivaTuner window that you have all pipes enabled or not. If so, congratulations. If not, the world hasnt ended, your card just wasnt up to the task.

Now to begin the actual OCing of the card. To the BFG 6800 OC owners, be prepared for a small letdown. It would seem that BFG has already pushed the hardware about as far as it will go. I only managed another 5% over the stock clocks which were already over the 6800 specs. Again YMMV.

You previously noticed the clock sliders in the 'Low-level system settings' window with a box that can be checked and unchecked that states 'Enable Low-level Hardware overclocking'. Dont worry with it. You cant check the box to enable it. nVidia overclocking is done at a software level, not at the hardware level now days. This is only there for support of the older nVidia cards.

Start at the main window and selct the second expanding context menu.

First you must check the 'Enable Driver Level hardware overclocking' box. You will then be prompted to reboot and detect stock clock frequency. It is recommended that you allow this as it will save headaches later on in the process. Once you have rebooted go back to the window and the sliders and options should be enabled.

It is suggested that you move in small increments at a time. Also dont try to move sliders on both core and memory without tests and reboot. Do them one at a time so you know the limits. By default, RivaTuner will test the setting and display a pop-up warning when it has detected that you have gone too far and will not allow you to go further. For the most part I have found this to be accurate. I was able to squeeze a few more MHz out by disabling this feature. To disable, go back to the RivaTuner main window and select the 'Power user' tab. Then scroll down to find the RivaTuner 2.0 RC 15.2\NVIDIA\Overclocking string. Click to expand the tree and select DisableInternalClockTest, right click and select the yellow bulb icon form the context menu.

You no longer have the limits of the built in clock tester. You will still have to test the clock as you set them but it will allow you to move on even if it fails. At this point you may or may not come up with artifacts and video stability.
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 12:40 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

Why use coolbits over rivatuner? They should still max out at the same clocks right?
__________________

__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.