Xeon vs. Pentium 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2005, 11:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Lightbulb Xeon vs. Pentium 4

Other than maybe having more Cache, why are Xeons considered faster than P4's???

Prove it!
__________________

__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 11:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Xeons are dual processors, some of the best Xeons run dual 3.6ghz cpu's. That means they get work done at a 7.2ghz rate. Plus they have HT and are 90nm.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 01:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

when you have dual processors, i dont think the performance is doubled, and you actually loose performance unless you have sufficient ram
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 07:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

at the moment, if you have 2 processors, one would work on one program, and the other on anouther program, or background tasks, as windows xp doesnt suport dual processors working on the same task.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 01:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Im pretty positive they work like raid0. They can work togather, witch would get work done at 7.2ghz speeds.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 02:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

are you sure? there has to be some sort of overheads? if you did benchmarking it cirtainly wouldnt be double for the dual processor system.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 03:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Technically a dual CPU setup will only run as fast as the CPU speed. But if you are using both with no specific affinity assigned to a CPU they will work max 50% load each.The computer does not run "faster" but rather more efficent. but if you use a program that supports SMP (Symmetric MultiProcessing) ie: like 3-d and CAD software and audio/video editing progs, and any other professional software, then you will reap the benifits of a dual cpu setup.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 04:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

yeah
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 07:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via AIM to NewCents05
Default

can xeon be a single processor tho
look at alienware ALX it looks like it has a single xeon 3.4ghz processor
NewCents05 is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 08:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default

well the benchmarks that I've seen, the p4's can beat the Xeon's, especially in like video benchmarks.

And when 2 Xeons work together, only one is used until it needs the other, it doesnt work like raid 0
__________________

__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.