Xeon - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2004, 07:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 72
Default Xeon

Can anyone explaim the difference between a p4 and a xeon cpu??? i was telling a co-worker about my new pc and this other guy walks up and was like I only use the xeon chip in my system...... okay... so I was just wondering what would be so special about having one!
__________________

..>Lost<.. is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 10:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

bacisally a xeon is a P4 on speed lol. The Xeon comes with 2 CPU's. So its mainly for running servers and doing like a lot of heavy duty things. Just like running a server. It has more cache and all that other stuff a P4 does not have. Xeon's aren't ment for like playing games or anything like that becuase its a waste of money for that.. Also, the Xeon motherboards are much more money then the P4's. You also need a lot of memory to run them so yea thats what it is.
__________________

__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 06:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to D4RK GR4YL3N
Default

xeons are almost exactly the same as regular P4s except they:
1) can be run in dual processor configuration
2) have a larger cache then regular P4s
3) have a slower FSB compared to regular P4s
4) they have a different socket
__________________
Athlon 64 @ 2.3 ghz
Chaintech mobo
9800 Pro
1 gig RAM
2x 160 gig sata
Audigy 2 zs
dvd/cdrw
D4RK GR4YL3N is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 11:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via ICQ to mdshort Send a message via AIM to mdshort Send a message via Yahoo to mdshort
Default

Yeh, the zeon processor was made as a server tech, and specifically has a larger memory bandwidth.
__________________
\"With every rise, there is a fall.\"

Need a good cheap host? Click Here
mdshort is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 01:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

Your co-worker must be rollin it in cuz the xeon's cost thousands. and the mobos cost like 5x more then p4 mobos.
__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 01:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 72
Default

Their not THAT much more. And no he is not rolling it and the dude reminds me of some little rat dog. Gets on my last nerve.
Look here
..>Lost<.. is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 02:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

yea there not that much at all. The mobos are like 200-300 dollars more but thats it.
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 10:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Monster00
yea there not that much at all. The mobos are like 200-300 dollars more but thats it.
Yeah, this 3.06Ghz Xeon cost only $539.89.
http://www.essencompu.com/nupplysingar.asp?ID=3665

That's only $280 more than a p4 running at 3.06Ghz... However you will pay around $900 for the fastest Xeon.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 10:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 222
Default

haha, just wondering, if you wanted to totally beef up a server or pc, could u overclock dual 3.2 Xeons?! (you'd obviously have to have some $$ to burn) that with 10k rpm drive(S) would be nutz!
__________________
Chris

EMachines T3025:
Creative Extigy, Creative 5300 5.1 Audio, Athlon XP 3000+, nVidia MX GeForce 4, Samsung 48x CD-R/W, Cendyne 4x DVD+R/RW, Deuce 160GB WD Caviars, ATI TV Wonder, Hitatchi SuperScan 811 21\" CRT, Logitech MX700, White/blue neon.
csw3190 is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 03:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
Default

I don't think dual processors give you much extra power in games, the guy would have been better off buying an AMD FX 53 or P4 extreme or something
__________________

__________________
<center>
Pentium 4 2.8 with M0 stepping.
Only air cooling tho
<br>
<a href=\"http://www.extreme64.com\"><b>Extreme64.com</b></a>
<br>
<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1152343400\">Aquamark03</a></center>
domwells is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.