X800 and its 'recommended' PS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2005, 01:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to xeromem
Default X800 and its 'recommended' PS

I'm looking into upgrading my PC with a higher-end vid card. The card I'm looking into is the ATI Radeon X800 Pro. My biggest concern with putting such a whopper in my PC is the power supply it needs. ATI 'recommends' a 300 Watt power supply and, my system being a mini- barebone, I only have like 220 W. Now, all I have in it are the mobo, DVD-ROM/CD-RW, 250 GB HDD, and floppy, so I guess my question is this: With the current system I have, would it still be possible to run an ATI X800 Pro off the current Power Supply. I don't wanna hear any 'It's not recommended' cuz that's already obvious. What I wanna hear is a 'Don't even risk it' or 'It should work'. Something along those lines. Any help is appreciated.
__________________

xeromem is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 01:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

PLEEEEEEEASE do not get the X800 Pro. Get the eVGA Nvidia GeForce 6800GT. It is 50-75% faster than the X800 Pro at the same price. Believe me, I have an X800 and I wish every day I would have gotten the 6800.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 01:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

dont get that card man. For the same price you can the Nvidia Geforce 6800GT (evga) and OC it to Ultra speeds and have an incredible amount of performance at your fingers. youll regret getting the x800pro and it is deffinately NOT recomended byu puting that video card on that power supply
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 02:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

220w...yeah I'm gonna go ahead and say 'Dont even risk it'

It's the power house to your system man. You need a good 400w IMO with like 20a on the +12v rail.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 02:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to xeromem
Default

can't up the PS without gettin a new case
xeromem is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 07:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
220w...yeah I'm gonna go ahead and say 'Dont even risk it'

It's the power house to your system man. You need a good 400w IMO with like 20a on the +12v rail.
6800GT is the route to go, many people got royally screwed by their x800's here.

I say you need a 400watt with 18amps on the 12v rail
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 04:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to xeromem
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
6800GT is the route to go, many people got royally screwed by their x800's here.

I say you need a 400watt with 18amps on the 12v rail
Yeah, uh... do I really need to tell you to LOOK UP ^^^^^
__________________

xeromem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.