x700 fan direction - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2006, 12:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default x700 fan direction

I just got an x700 recently, not cutting edge I know, but I am really **** cheap. It is running at 49c right now. A little warm right? Anyhow, I have the fan off my old Athalon 1100mhz. It moves a ton of air. I was thinking about strapping that on top of the heatsink in the x700. First, would this help? Secondly, should the air be pushing into the heatsink or pulling the air away. FYI the x700 is clocked at 399/250 right now. Also, I do want to overclock this thing. My sempron 3000+ is running at 37c btw.
Thanks for any help
j
__________________

eviction is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 01:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

ok it runs 49c idle or is this when graphical load occurs?
if it runs 49c idle thats very bad. i belive my x850xt@540mhz/1182 does 49c under 2 hour load i would suggest getting some arctic cilver 5. and maybe actually a different cooler, because you will get some great clocks out of that card.
__________________

burned-ati is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 02:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default

it runs at 49c idle, 57% fan, uggh. Should I send this back newegg for a better one? Newegg has been giving me bad crap as of late. This is a sapphire card and it runs games fine, but hot. I just ran about an hour of farcry and it hopped up to 55c. This isn't right at all is it? This was with my case totally open.
eviction is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 12:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Sapphire isn't exactly known for their extra high-quality cards. I have an ASUS x700. I don't know the temps because I can't get their crappy SmartDoctor program to work, but I clocked mine to 492mhz. Send it back as defective and get a different brand, methinks.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 12:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

oh, and in addition, heatsink fans should always be pointing down towards the heatsink blowing air on them.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 01:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

i wouldnt send it back to newegg thats just a waist of time , not unless it doesnt twerk. lol but in ur case its twerks lol so turn ur fan speed to 85 precent idle and 100 precent about 50c
burned-ati is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 03:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
Sapphire isn't exactly known for their extra high-quality cards. I have an ASUS x700. I don't know the temps because I can't get their crappy SmartDoctor program to work, but I clocked mine to 492mhz. Send it back as defective and get a different brand, methinks.

Ryan
Sapphire are high quality cards, they have even taken over the production of all ATI branded cards.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 07:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Those temps aren't that high at all. A GPU is different than a CPU. GPUs take much higher temperatures than CPUs. You can be over 100 degrees C before you even have to start worrying about temperature with a GPU.
__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 11:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks for all the info. Would I be better off strapping this major air pushing athalon fan onto the top of my GPU heatsink, or using it to help the case breathe. I got it to where after a few hours of Far Cry is is running at 51c. This is overclocked to 422 currently.
eviction is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 12:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Install some case fans and see if you can get your ambient case temp down a few degrees. Making the entire case cooler improves the temperature in all of the components.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.