x2 66gt's vs. 68ultra - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2005, 03:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 44
Default x2 66gt's vs. 68ultra

will x2 6600gt's overclocked to full be a 6800 ultra overclocked/not over clocked
__________________

__________________
AMD Althlon FX-53
2x 6600 gt\'s
Asus A8N Deluxe SLI
1 GB Ballistix Ram
Windows XP Pro SE
Raptor Hardrive
Sound Audigy Plat Pro
Juice476 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 05:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

no

2 6600gts in SLI is approx the same as 1 6800GT. The ultra is alittle bit beyond that
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 10:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

However this also is heavily dependant on the game.

Some games a 6800GT can easily beat out 2x 6600GT's, and it can go vise versa

Single is better for the money
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 11:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 44
Default

see i dont understand that i should at least equal those cards because there are 2 of them maybe if they were both fully overclocked
__________________
AMD Althlon FX-53
2x 6600 gt\'s
Asus A8N Deluxe SLI
1 GB Ballistix Ram
Windows XP Pro SE
Raptor Hardrive
Sound Audigy Plat Pro
Juice476 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 01:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

I dont think you understand, a 6600 is ONLY a 128bit interface. But the 6800 is a 256bit interface. 10 6600 will not beat the 6800 graphically. The only possible thing that can happen, is the dual 6600 might run some games better at higher resolution, or produce less lag. But a 128bit interface, cannot beat a 256bit interface.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 04:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah it can codeine, look 6600GT vs 9800pro

A 1000mhz 128bit card is equal to a 500mhz 256 bit card.

Memory bandwidth is mhz*(bit/8)
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 07:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

DJ-CHRIS, yeah your rite.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 07:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

don't get eh 512mb version...it's useless

256 is more than enough as i said
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.