X2 4800+ OC Results - Page 8 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2006, 10:53 PM   #71 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

then you probably need a bigger divider or loosen the timings and not to thread steal or anything to you have to make a bootable floppy/cd for memtest or can't you just run it off the desktop
__________________

__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 11:41 PM   #72 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

bootable floppy
__________________

__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 01:26 AM   #73 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

bootable disc. don't use the gui testers. use a big memory divider. i'm thinking 1:2 just to see if that will pass.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 05:07 AM   #74 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

wow this is exciting. i could learn a thing or two.. hehe..

gl w/ your overclock.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 11:12 AM   #75 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

how long did you run memtest for until it failed?
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 04:00 PM   #76 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

Is the gui tester what the program starts in??

where do I go after the program starts to set up memory dividers??
__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 05:02 PM   #77 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

I have memtest-86 version 3.2, is this the version I should be using?? No matter what changes I do in the bios, the mem fails test 6.
__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 08:58 PM   #78 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

It's probably because your using PC-3500. See if you can return it.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 09:47 PM   #79 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

The 3500LL pro memory and the ASUS A8NSLI32 motherboard have been tested and matched to work together according to ASUS and corsair, so I doubt the fact its that I am using PC-3500 memory.
__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 10:13 PM   #80 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Is your ram failing at stock speeds?
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.