X2 4800+ OC Results - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2006, 11:48 AM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

no that is the clock multiplier. LDT multiplier is between 1 and 5.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 12:01 PM   #22 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

Will the LTD usually be where the CPU parameters are?

I will look for it and to continue to try and increase the cpu speed.
__________________

__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 12:49 PM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

If you want to get your CPU higher try and lower the LDT frequency to 4X from 5X. You have to take that and multiply your HTT to get close to 1000. Your probably hitting the limit with 1150. I'd say with that cooler you can easily push your Vcore up to 1.5 or 1.575. I wouldn't go above 1.6V though.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 01:30 PM   #24 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

Thanks for the info I will try and locate the LTD multiplier parameter and change it to 4X. Is there a need to maybe put it at 3X??

How far should I try and overclock the cpu?? If I get too high will it fry or does it all depend on temps??
__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 02:07 PM   #25 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Don't put it at 3X. Your fine at 4x. You can probably run that at 3GHz.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 02:24 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

For the LDT, there is a decent chance that your board auto lowers it when increasing the FSB, but you should check for sure and lower it if necessary.

Like has been said, you want to keep total HT at near 1000 or below. That calculation simply consists of LDT multi X HTT (FSB).

So at stock:

200x5 = 1000

As soon as you increase FSB above 200, you should lower LDT to x4, x4 is good to 250 FSB shown below:

250x4=1000

Now, as soon as you increase FSB above 250, LDT should be lowered to x3 and is then good till FSB hits 333. Understand?

I would guess that your CPU is just maxing out at that vcore, but you have quite a bit of room on vcore right now. You will be completely safe up to 1.6 as long as temps stay in check, so keep an eye on them.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 04:10 PM   #27 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

What are good temps for the X2 series of CPU's just so I have an Idea?
__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 04:16 PM   #28 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Well max temps for those CPU's are 65*C. Keep it at 50*C and under and your fine. Try and keep it in the high 30's low 40's and your in the clear.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 08:38 PM   #29 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

average load temps on stock cooling at stock speed are between 43-47 degrees
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 08:41 PM   #30 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Yea but he doesn't have stock cooling. He's got the Zalman 9500.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.