x2 3800+ overclocks - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2006, 02:03 AM   #61 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

for playing games, i don't see a processor doing much.... i saw almost no gain going from a 2.2 ghz 3500+ to a 2.5ghz opteron 146.... a few frames per second on the average up.. but not too much....
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 02:05 AM   #62 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

again, it depends on the game. some games are very GPU dependant and not very CPU dependant. some games are very CPU dependant also. it depends on the game engine, the physics, and how much is going on at the time.

I often lag in Generals when I play multiple hard enemies. I have an Athlon XP 2800+
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 03:04 AM   #63 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it depends a lot on the type of software you use on your pc. generally when you play a game your pc is still mutli-tasking and can become quite noticeable at points. the dual cores pick up the slack with background processes and stop them from interfering with gameplay. also being able to encode a video and play FEAR at the same time, without lag and still beat my friends P4 3.2ghz on the encoding seems like a good upside for me.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 08:55 PM   #64 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

Same here man, same here
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 09:16 PM   #65 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

DC gaming is a total flop...just like sli. It all sounds good and dandy till you glance at the benchy's!

http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/...es/amd6xaa.gif
http://www.bjorn3d.com/read.php?page...form_zip_code=

Some major perfecting to be had! I mean DC gaming might come in handy if your system is a pos and you want to play Quake "5" in two years.... But for good graphics, DC does nothing!

Its just the oposite in SLI. SLI only works when the gaming gets rough. Without a high demand SLI sucks. So future installment plan you say? You would have to upgrade as soon as your high end graphics start to lose fps...if you wait too long (low fps w/o any goodies) SLI won't help you one bit...
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 11:57 PM   #66 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

ITsl aready been in use for FEAR and i can see a major difference.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 12:28 AM   #67 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i think you should learn some facts first. unfortunately when playing a game the stock 3800+x2 functions effectively as a 3200+ but with the added benefit of not being lagged up by background processes. my 3800+ functions as a standard 3800+ for gaming. most people take the p-rating as a straight out indication of performance. but seeing as only one core operates for games and each core on the 3800 is equal to a 3200+ i wouldn't be so surprised. learn some facts!!! i did not buy my dual core for better game play i bought it for multi-tasking as i have stated

edit: also who exactly stated that a dual core CPU would boost graphics?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 12:33 AM   #68 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BennyV04988
DC gaming is a total flop...just like sli. It all sounds good and dandy till you glance at the benchy's!

http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/...es/amd6xaa.gif
http://www.bjorn3d.com/read.php?page...form_zip_code=

Some major perfecting to be had! I mean DC gaming might come in handy if your system is a pos and you want to play Quake "5" in two years.... But for good graphics, DC does nothing!

Its just the oposite in SLI. SLI only works when the gaming gets rough. Without a high demand SLI sucks. So future installment plan you say? You would have to upgrade as soon as your high end graphics start to lose fps...if you wait too long (low fps w/o any goodies) SLI won't help you one bit...
all they need is for games to take advantage of the second core. current games will usually use a lot of CPU time from one core, and maybe not even touch the second core. that's why they are not effective in most games right now.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 12:45 AM   #69 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 172
Send a message via AIM to BillGates
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BennyV04988
DC gaming is a total flop...just like sli. It all sounds good and dandy till you glance at the benchy's!

http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/...es/amd6xaa.gif
http://www.bjorn3d.com/read.php?page...form_zip_code=

Some major perfecting to be had! I mean DC gaming might come in handy if your system is a pos and you want to play Quake "5" in two years.... But for good graphics, DC does nothing!

Its just the oposite in SLI. SLI only works when the gaming gets rough. Without a high demand SLI sucks. So future installment plan you say? You would have to upgrade as soon as your high end graphics start to lose fps...if you wait too long (low fps w/o any goodies) SLI won't help you one bit...
Whats your point? 2 years ago a 7800GT would have been overkill.....now it's not enough in some situations. Dual core hasn't been mainstream for long, give it time and everything will support it.
BillGates is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 12:59 AM   #70 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

Well said. Sorta like 2gig of DDR was to much last year and now its needed.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.