x2 3800+ overclocks - Page 11 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2006, 10:51 AM   #101 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

It's "CPU VID Control" and "CPU VID Special Control" or something similar that control the vcore settings
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 10:56 AM   #102 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

o sweet.
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 11:08 AM   #103 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

k running 2.5 at 1.425 runnig dual prime now gonna try 2.6 at 1.475 after
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 01:52 PM   #104 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

i think i got a pretty **** good one. running dual prime at 2.7 with 1.5 volts 41 celcius load
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 02:18 PM   #105 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

TRIPLE POST! Use the edit button next time. 2.7GHz with 1.5v is pretty good, almost as good as my opty 165 that does 2.8 with 1.5v

BTW, I would swap the coolers you are using, the xp-90 on the 3700+ and the cnps9500 on the 3800+x2.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 03:54 PM   #106 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

ya i thikn im going to swap them once the 3700 and zalman come,or ill use the zalman for both, the latter most likely
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 07:47 PM   #107 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

that is really good!!! the difference opty's are supposed to overclock well without adding much voltage until a certain point where you really have to crank up the juice
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 08:28 PM   #108 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

fooey!(LOL) at that 2.7 core o is stble but core 1 craps out after a few minutes. I brought it back down to stock for now and th en once i get my 3700,zalman cooler new case fan controller and ram ill really pusgh the 3700 to its limits!
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 03:48 AM   #109 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

see!!! every single story i know of involving one of the cores holding an overclock back core1 is the weaker of the two. what is going on here? i have no idea of the actual engineering of the dual cores or even single cores but i'm beginning to think it isn't the cores themselves at fault but perhaps something else in the design :/
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 03:55 AM   #110 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 38
Default

please nite give me some guidence man. :P

you told me to research more about OCing.. but what parts.. i know the basics. and most of the threads tell you just about changing values.

we established that it cant be the memory holding the OC back.
so what can i be looking for to solve the issue of 'what is the problem' should i go looking in another board?
__________________

yisthis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.