x2 3600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2007, 02:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default x2 3600

hey all.
got my new 3600 yesterday and have it installed (actaully using it now).
i have a question:
my bios is reading a 60*C temp on the cpu.
everest reads 57*C on cpu
core temp reads 10* on core 0, 8* on core 1.
yes, my hsf is seated properly (i have removed/reinstalled it on my 4200 loads of times).
it seems i have read somewhere about bios issues with temp readings on these 65nm chips. obviously, i do not want to increase the vcore without knowing if i have a glitch. the vcore is only 1.3, if everything is kosher (ie not a bad chip) there is no way it should be running 60*.
anybody have any input?
anyway i can be certain its not running that hot (besides waiting for it to start smoking, lol)?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 04:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: x2 3600

preliminaries are impressive.
got 315 fsb at stock voltage.
thats right kids, a 63% increase
(315 x 9.5 = 2.9925).
i'm gonna let it burn in a day at 265 x 9.5 = 2.5175 with ht multi at 4x, which gives ht link of 1060. Ram is set to auto at the moment, running at ddr2-667,
418 MHz, 5-5-5-18-23-1T.
after a day or so i will up fsb to 315. then i will try to push past that with a small voltage increase, then when its maxed, see how fast my ram will go.
i am not really concerned with the temps at the moment, as everest is saying almost 60*c, and my hsf and heatpipes are cool to the touch. i think i have a glitch in my bios because of the 65nm chip.
315...thats 15MHz increase in fsb over my 4200's top (and it was unstable without a lot of work) with NO VOLTAGE INCREASE.
pretty impressive indeed boy-o's...for a 65 dollar cpu.
i also still have the evga 590 mobo, and i may actually switch it out again with my abit and see if i can really get this thing to cook. i know i got over 15 fsb increase on my 4200 with it...so if i have the same luck with this chip, that would put me at 330 x 9.5 = 3.135.
and that is very impressive, indeed.
even if i cant break 3.0 ( i think i will), or get -30 sec in super pi...i think i will keep this chip because i know it is running MUCH cooler than my 4200 would be at the same overclock.
i'll use the 4200 for my mom's upcoming build.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 05:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default Re: x2 3600

Awesome. I wish they released these babies for 939.. makes me angry I got a 939.. but I guess I'll be content for now.. =D
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 06:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: x2 3600

Very nice man. Can't you put it at 316 for 3.0ghz? lol I mean that 2.992 is just funny.

See if you can't put it up a few more FSB but yea this just shows that the X2 3600 is an amazing chip for the price.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 01:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: x2 3600

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
Very nice man. Can't you put it at 316 for 3.0ghz? lol I mean that 2.992 is just funny.

See if you can't put it up a few more FSB but yea this just shows that the X2 3600 is an amazing chip for the price.
316 and it hangs. hangs at 318, hangs at 325. but dude, it is using 1.30v... i know....3.0GHz..my white whale. i will figure it out, in any case i will get it in a couple days. for now, i will see how it games, and report back.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 01:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: x2 3600

1.3 thats it?? Isn't that a bit low?? Holy **** pretty much 3.0ghz at 1.3 vcore thats awesome
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 08:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default Re: x2 3600

Your temps are probably very low. I hate how my cpu can read 40+ degrees celcius but when I touch my big typhoons heatpipes, heatsink, or even cpu block; they are cool to the touch.

Congrats on the rediculous overclock. Now thats a true price to performance ratio.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 12:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Re: x2 3600

nagasama I'm getting my stuff on tuesday, possibly later ;/
So I guess I'll be asking you questions..

Ya think you can help me a little bit?
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 01:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 341
Default Re: x2 3600

wtf?! I got to 255 fsb with 9 multiplier on my x2 3800. It's unstable at 260 mhz. I'd go higher vcore but everest reads 60 C on load.
__________________
Current Build:
CPU: AMD x2 3800
Case: thermaltake tsunami
Ram: 2x1gb OCZ ddr4pc3200
GPU: 7800 GT
PSU: Antec 500w
Mobo: DFI lanparty
Rich_Franklin is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 01:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: x2 3600

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Franklin View Post
wtf?! I got to 255 fsb with 9 multiplier on my x2 3800. It's unstable at 260 mhz. I'd go higher vcore but everest reads 60 C on load.
which one do u have Windsor or Manchester? uz i wouldn't be surprised that happened with a Windsor, oh nagasama do u have windsor or brisbane?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.