x1 link width, instead of x16 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2008, 08:10 AM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: x1 link width, instead of x16

that is the oldest bios on the asus site that one user posted solved the problem. apparently there is a bug in later bioses that causes the x1 error.

bios 0509 according to the last post in the thread you linked , fixed it.
__________________

networkgeek is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 09:20 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 184
Send a message via MSN to TheGlazer
Default Re: x1 link width, instead of x16

BIOS 0509, is the last resort to fixing the x1 link width problem.

I have FINALLY Fixed the problem; I need these exact settings:

PCIE - 101
NB - 1.45v
SB - 1.5v
FSB Terminal - 1.3v

If I raise the PCIE above or below 101, I will get the x1 link width, it has to be at 101! But I'll wait a week before I say the problem is solved for sure.

Thanx to all the reply'ers for putting effort into helping me solve this problem; I spent 3 weeks reading and did countless numbers of trial and error tests; and Finally (Hopefully), My computer will run perfectly now.
__________________

__________________
CM Haf 932
Intel i7860
Asus Maximus 3 Forumula
2x2GB Corsair Dominator GT
XFX 6870 Dual Fan
Intel 80GB SSD
1GB Seagate 7200.12
1GB WD Black
Thermalright Venomous X
Corsair 750W Modular P/S
Samsung T220
Scythe Kaze Master Ace Fan Controller
Genius SW-5.1 1505 Speaker System
Windows 7 Professional 32bit.
TheGlazer is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 04:12 PM   #23 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: x1 link width, instead of x16

thats totally bizarre.....id try the bios fix, but if not, congratulations...i bet that was a frustrating deal.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 04:19 PM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: x1 link width, instead of x16

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
thats totally bizarre.....id try the bios fix, but if not, congratulations...i bet that was a frustrating deal.
it bugged the **** out of me when I had my p5b too....I didn't really know what to say in this thread because it seems like every solution is different.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 08:13 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 184
Send a message via MSN to TheGlazer
Default Re: x1 link width, instead of x16

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
it bugged the **** out of me when I had my p5b too....I didn't really know what to say in this thread because it seems like every solution is different.
Yea, it seems like the solution is different for many people with the P5B Deluxe. But I've booted up 4 times with x16 now, so I believe my problem is fixed.

This was incredibly frustrating; but I'm so glad there was a solution to my problem
__________________

__________________
CM Haf 932
Intel i7860
Asus Maximus 3 Forumula
2x2GB Corsair Dominator GT
XFX 6870 Dual Fan
Intel 80GB SSD
1GB Seagate 7200.12
1GB WD Black
Thermalright Venomous X
Corsair 750W Modular P/S
Samsung T220
Scythe Kaze Master Ace Fan Controller
Genius SW-5.1 1505 Speaker System
Windows 7 Professional 32bit.
TheGlazer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPUZ Link Width Question TheGlazer Overclocking and Modding 4 12-27-2007 07:47 PM
PCI Link Width to low for PCIe ChiliPalmer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 11-19-2007 01:37 AM
PCIe x16 architecture -vs- bandwidth question ChiliPalmer Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 10-06-2007 08:43 PM
I need helpw ith my website + Css Expanding Please planesrock Programming 2 06-10-2007 01:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.