Is this worth its money? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2005, 05:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 30
Default Is this worth its money?

see sig image for specs, plus it has a CRT monitor, mouse, keyboard for £300

Ive bought all the parts and am planning to build it myself, any tips?
__________________

shootdamonkey is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 08:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

What is that in US dollars?
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 10:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

wat motherboard? and wat size crt? thats about the right price tbh. depending on the size of the monitor.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 11:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

i dunno wat the processor is worth, and i dont know exactly wat that ram would cost, but that DVD-RW and 80GB hdd alone would be wat...half the price?
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 11:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

DVD-RW $55
80GB HDD $70
512 Ram $60
ATI Card $100

I did not see any semprons that run at 2.6ghz. Is that overclocked? The semprons I saw ran at 1.5-1.8 ghz
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 11:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I assume he means a 2600+, as a 2.6GHz sempron would be pretty damn fast, faster than most Athlons out there. If that's the case, i would probably pay $300-400USD for that machine at most.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 11:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

i think its around $500-600 U.S. (leaning more to 600)

btw your currency is in pounds right?
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 01:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

Yeah, shawn, £ = english pounds.

I think the e with the line through it or something like that means euro.

He's already bought them all, so just assemble carefully. Usually read through the mobo's manual, see how to set the jumpers right for ya.

Another heads up is to be careful with that thermal paste! make sure you're using any, even cheap kind. The main part to be careful for is make sure it's only on the little metal plate, not all over the place. I've fried a 9800 pro cause I accidentally dabbed a bit on my vga silencer and it short circuited a chip out.. it was painful. Now I gotta get another if I can...

Oh! also, if your floppy drive (if you're gonna install one) light won't go off, you've reversed the ide cable. yep.
__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 02:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default

euro is a c with 2 lines through it. €
__________________
Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 07:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 30
Default

Oops sorry for the confusion gaara, its a 1.8Ghz processor. I'm not too good with the technical numbers and stuff. I guess its still not to bad then, with the 512Mb ram and graphics card it should run smoothly, shouldnt it?
__________________

shootdamonkey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.