is it worth it - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2003, 04:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
stoneys-nutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 64
Send a message via ICQ to stoneys-nutz
Post is it worth it

i have often been tempted to overclock, i have a 1.9ghz p4, but i wonder if the difference after the o/c is worth all the aggro ?, would you really notice the difference, can some one who has o/c their cpu tell me what it was like after, and would they do it again, also what are the risks involved (overheating and the like).

__________________

__________________
dont linger with your finger on the trigger
stoneys-nutz is offline  
Old 08-15-2003, 10:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

depending on how much you've OC'd your machine, you'll notice some improvements on performance. but a 1mhz increase,..is not worth the hulabaloo.

i've OC'd, 2 of my p4's once...but i live in the tropics and CPU temps get really high. yeah, i'd do it again...but as of now..i don't feel the need to OC.

as far as i know there is only one risk...and its frying your cpu and ruin your system.

but if done correctly..you'll be fine
__________________

devlish96 is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 12:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 142
Default

Hey devilish... if you overclock a cpu 1ghz that is prety good the most i have ever dont is 0.15 ghz
inatey is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 12:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 142
Default

ohh w8 i just realised he ment mhz... sorry
inatey is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 08:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

i think i heard that someone overclockeda p4 to nearly 5 GHZ - needed a HELL OF A LOT OF COOLING though
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 09:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
stoneys-nutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 64
Send a message via ICQ to stoneys-nutz
Default

hmmmmmmmm i think if i try it it wil have to be on my older system,550 amd k6, if i fry that one it wont matter that much,lol, i think i might use it as a test bed and see what happens, thanks for all the input though,

ps
i am in south wales at the moment but could be moving back to england soon
__________________
dont linger with your finger on the trigger
stoneys-nutz is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 05:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
i think i heard that someone overclockeda p4 to nearly 5 GHZ - needed a HELL OF A LOT OF COOLING though

yeah,..like the VAPOCHILL
devlish96 is offline  
Old 08-18-2003, 02:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you'd need to plate it in gold, get a heatsink and about 3 fans on top of it... hehe
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-18-2003, 02:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

or put it in the freezer - then it would run at NORMAL temperature
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.