world in conflict - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2008, 01:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default world in conflict

hey all, i run world in conflict bench 1920 x 1200, all high, everything enabled except effects and clouds on water. no AA, 2x AF.
with card stock, i get avg. of about 45 FPS. when i overclock card to 740/1050, i get maybe like 3 more FPS. sound like a CPU bottleneck to you guys?
or maybe rivatuner is not overlocking my card (lol...it works the fan, don't see why it wouldn't work the clocks).
it's definitely playable, but if it's my cpu....that e8400 is looking better and better. this is as much as i can get stable in a demanding game with my 5000BE.
what do ya'll think?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 01:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: world in conflict

what was your stock clocks? it doesnt sound THAT much like a cpu bottleneck tho, since ur running a ridiciulously demanding game at 1920.1200, which in itself is quite a good achievement...

I do however think that for the best WIC experience you should change your CPU...
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 01:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: world in conflict

stock card is 670/1674/972
stock CPU is 2.6ghz
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 02:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: world in conflict

i wonder if it could be a memory bottleneck.... does ur ram run in dual channel atm?
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 04:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: world in conflict

oh yeah.
it runs a little over 900mhz.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 05:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: world in conflict

That sounds about right.

In all honesty that really isn't that much of an overclock and in the grand scheme of things 3 fps is not a bad improvement.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 06:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: world in conflict

true, 45fps is stil excellent at 1920*1200! i'd envy that kind of result...then again, my pc could easily get that kind of result...
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 04-29-2008, 12:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: world in conflict

lol, then dont be envious lol....
if you couldn't pull higher rates with your rig i would fly over and smack you around. jk. it's definitely not bad, just not the 75+ i am used to w/ COD4 or the 100+ BF2, haha. makes me sad...games are developing faster than hardware. oh well, gives me an excuse for a new mobo/cpu within the next few months (already warming the wifey up for it heh heh heh)...
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trade TF2 for World in conflict krazyq Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 6 04-07-2008 10:34 AM
Does anyone think World in Conflict is a good game? pc_boy PC Gaming 8 02-26-2008 06:12 PM
World in Conflict Beta Space_Coyote PC Gaming 2 07-18-2007 11:16 PM
World in Conflict hickfarm Off Topic Discussion 1 06-16-2007 08:56 PM
World In Conflict Beta out! augest PC Gaming 5 06-05-2007 01:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.