[WORKLOG] PYZCHO B!TCH II (Harper's New Tower Case Modification) - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2005, 07:11 PM   #31 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

I would come and get it, but i dont live anywhere near you.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 02:20 AM   #32 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Log Entry - 10/09/05

After thinking about it all week, I have desided that I will mount the front 120 mm Fan can fan grill directly on to the front panel.
So I have drilled in 4 holes on to the front of the case so I can mount both grill and fan via some small nuts and bolts. Meanwhile the 120mm will be mounted directly onto the cases inner frame.

Purchase 4 cans of matt black spray paint. And I have given the case it's first coat. One of the panels, I need to remove some of the sticky adhesive that was left over from bossman's mouse holder

As some point in time, I should remove both my 5 1/2 bay speakers and Removable hard drive rack and paint them.

However, i am thinking about purchasing a CircleFire- Professional Music-Media Kit (A1994) instead of painting the speakers. The only problem is that no one is currently importing these into the country. So I might have to get one from over seas.
As for the rack, I might see how much it's just gong to set me back with just purchasing a black one
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 10:44 PM   #33 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Arrow Log Entry - 11/09/05

Managed to get another coat of paint onto the case this morning. And I am hoping to get one more on before the end of today. With about 4 undercoats, I think I am going to be ready for the final metallic black coat and flat lacker finish.

After doing some measurements, I have worked out that the design will need to be no bigger than 25.5cm (W) x 42cm (H). A few limiting factors was the side vent, and the slight indent that is on the side panel.

I have contacted a few sign local sign writers about getting the vinal cut done.

Since I am not sure if I am going to be able to get the Thermaltake Circle Fire Speakers, I figured that I might as well paint my existing drive bay speakers.

Existing 5 1/4 Drive Drive bay speakers. They are nothing fancy, but they produce a fairly reasonable sound for what they are.

Taking apart the plastic was easy. However the 2 front speakers where rather tricky to remove.


Speakers.... GUTTED. I forgot that this thing also have a subwoffer in it. So I am debating about putting in the top 5 1/4 bay.


I picked up the paint that I am going to use for the final coat. It's called Midnight Glow. It's black with this very sligh hint of dark blue.

Now the next question that is bugging me. Should I paint the back of the PC. Now most people don't as you don't see the back of the CPU. However since I seem the back of mine every time I walk into the computer room.
So the question is this, do I leave the back that stock standard grey colour. Or should I paint it black.
After all, I got 2 extra cans of FLAT BLACK that are not going to be used.

[EDIT] I have desided to paint the back of the case black. However I am not going using the Midnight Glow on these areas. Not $8 per can [/EDIT]
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 11:34 PM   #34 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Arrow LOG ENTRY - 12/09/05

I have some of the quotations get back to me today. It looks like it's going to cost me about $100 to get the print done. I've had quotes going up at high as $165 for the orginal print.

Since the design is too complicated to get done with a Vinal Cut, it looks like it's going to be a digital print instead. And a digital print costs the same whether is one colour or full colour. So I figured that I might as well go for a full colour design instead.

So I after thinking about it, I am going for the following image


I have ordered in the following via work :-
* Laser IDE Rack (Black) I have always like the Lazer Racks because they are one of the few brands that have a flap that comes down when you remove the drive.
* Belkin 6 Colour-Coded Cable Ties - Velcro Tabs Part # F8B024 so i can kept my power cables under control.
* Black LG DVD Rom Drive

Since I am just about done on the front panel, here's a little sneak peek. Ignor case that is sitting behind it please. I just wanted to see how it would look like with the lights on.


I can not wait until this week end so I can put her together.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 03:44 PM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

sorry if someone already mentioned this, but i dont have time to read threw all these posts...

i was just going to mention, one of the first pic's i saw, you have foamy stuff covering 2 of your fans in the back acting as filters.... any filter you put on like that will drasticaly reduce airflow.... since your using a full tower and it appears like there will be a lot of free space of there.... you could make a cube from the Foam filter material, leaving one side open.. place the fan on the open end.... that way you have 5 times the surface area of foam filter material, witch means 5x the possible airflow.
jolancer is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 04:11 PM   #36 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

Wish i was that good with mods and **** lol
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 04:18 PM   #37 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

THat looks kickass already.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 07:20 PM   #38 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jolancer
sorry if someone already mentioned this, but i dont have time to read threw all these posts...

i was just going to mention, one of the first pic's i saw, you have foamy stuff covering 2 of your fans in the back acting as filters....
That is the old case. Those filters will not be there any more.

Quote:
Originally posted by jolancer
any filter you put on like that will drasticaly reduce airflow....
Not like i have a choice. My computer is 10 meters open space directly from where my dad cooks. And he uses too much oil.

Plus there is the fact that my computer room is a magor path way from one end of the house to the other.

I got my sisters guine pig in the same room too.

And the computer is one the ground.

Part from the sharing the "joys" of moving back in with my folks, I also got the problem with my room being rather dusty not mater how many times i vacuum it.

I would like to place the tower on the desk, but I like having my desk space.

Quote:
Originally posted by jolancer
since your using a full tower and it appears like there will be a lot of free space of there.... you could make a cube from the Foam filter material, leaving one side open.. place the fan on the open end.... that way you have 5 times the surface area of foam filter material, witch means 5x the possible airflow.
I will keep that in mind when I am putting this sucker together.

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
Wish i was that good with mods and **** lol
Just need to have the right tools.
And most importantly just think things out for a while on how you are going to do things.

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
THat looks kickass already.
That is what I sead too
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 08:55 PM   #39 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

Wish i would take my time when working on the radio **** in my car >_<
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 10:28 PM   #40 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default






basically the same thing you did, but i did it a few months back. i wanna keep mine white
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.