Worklog- CrossFlow... - Page 9 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2006, 05:25 PM   #81 (permalink)
The ModFather
 
markkleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posts: 273
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Well what i was tlaking about is in the front panel there you stil have holes for like USB and front audio and that. Where you going to still use those or just do something else w/ them? BTW you have a PM.
I never use the front jacks (adds too much mess to wiring, sometimes USB)
If you have to have the front jacks they can always be moved to a better location.

I replied to the PM before..

Its way strong, especially with the handle in front. And the extra panel (the one that the fans mount to adds extra strength)
__________________

__________________
MKMods
markkleb is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 06:13 PM   #82 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

Oh ok, i was just wondering if you where gonna keep them there or just not use them at all. For better wiring it makes more sense to just leave them out.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 07-30-2006, 06:21 PM   #83 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

did u weld those screws things on for the mobo onto the case?
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 06:28 PM   #84 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

I thikn i can answer that. It looks like he drilled the holes through the bottom and put the screws in then fastened them down by those nuts. I would have super glued them too for extra protection
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 07-30-2006, 06:29 PM   #85 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

thanks... just wanted to know.
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 06:33 PM   #86 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

Well he may have welded them but its just my best guess. Its what it looks like at least, so ill let him answer when he gets back on.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 07-30-2006, 07:41 PM   #87 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to pullyalater
Default

okay so im just thinking, why are cases not made of copper.... aside from the conductivity i see no differences other than price. if i could i am considering giving it a try, its easily bendable and has potential to cool very well.
__________________
http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b2...beatz/sig2.gif

Asus x1900xtx / Zalman 900cu
ABIT Crossfire 3200 mobo
AMD 939 fx-62 @2.8Ghz / Zalman CNPS9500
TeamGroup DDR500 3-3-2-8 (awesome RAM)
150 GB WD Raptor HD
Mushkin 650W PSU
Plextor SATA DVD burner
Thermaltake Soprano case... will change soon. =)
pullyalater is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 07:44 PM   #88 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to pullyalater
Default

that media lab will be kickass, are you throwing a tuner in?!
__________________
http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b2...beatz/sig2.gif

Asus x1900xtx / Zalman 900cu
ABIT Crossfire 3200 mobo
AMD 939 fx-62 @2.8Ghz / Zalman CNPS9500
TeamGroup DDR500 3-3-2-8 (awesome RAM)
150 GB WD Raptor HD
Mushkin 650W PSU
Plextor SATA DVD burner
Thermaltake Soprano case... will change soon. =)
pullyalater is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 07:48 PM   #89 (permalink)
The ModFather
 
markkleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posts: 273
Default

cost! I went to a scrap yard to get some copper to make heatsinks. A small piece was $20. To make a whole case it would be hundreds just for materials. One mod that I am thinking about pullyalater is made out of copper tubing filled with water.(for the cooling) The tubing isant too much and you could solder it.

The struts holding up the mobo are threaded rod. A 3' piece is like $3. Its 6-32 threads and I put it on with nuts like PP said. (that way its adjustable) To make it not so ugly I covered it with wire sleeving.
__________________
MKMods
markkleb is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 07:52 PM   #90 (permalink)
The ModFather
 
markkleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posts: 273
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pullyalater
that media lab will be kickass, are you throwing a tuner in?!
I have a older one in a box somewhere in the closet, I think its a Avermedia.
Funny but the only reason I bought the MediaLab is cause I thought the UltraBlue was a little plain in front. lol
__________________

__________________
MKMods
markkleb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.