Woohoo! Just got my 6800GT to 430mhz 1.15mhz mem!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2005, 04:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

Yep, very true. I'll usaully ad about 10c after I minimze because I see it drop down real fast.
__________________

Thresh is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 05:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Did you lock your AGP frequency at 66? The only way I could see adjusting the voltage to the AGP slot helping is if you were running it at over 66, but you don't want to do that anyways...
there are two seperate options, one for changing frequency beyond 66MHz and one for voltage which is stock 1.5v so the two don't have anything to do with each other.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 05:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
there are two seperate options, one for changing frequency beyond 66MHz and one for voltage which is stock 1.5v so the two don't have anything to do with each other.
I was just trying to think of a reason adjusting the AGP voltage would affect his GPU OC. Does that make sense to you? I guess if it was undervolting for some reason?
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 07:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I was just trying to think of a reason adjusting the AGP voltage would affect his GPU OC. Does that make sense to you? I guess if it was undervolting for some reason?
like I said I've heard both sides of the story...I remember at DFI street some guy went on a rampage towards another guy how the AGP voltage and adjusting beyond 1.5 doesn't do crap and the other guy responded "yeah I'll remember that next time I get a higher overclock from raising it " but it's true that it has nothing to do with the GPU voltage though.

However, my card got up to 433/1185 with stock voltage and crap, so I'd think they should hit around there (assuming it's a good card) without having to adjust anything
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 07:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

Weird. I was able to achieve more stable speeds with increasing the voltage. Guess it depends on what your running.
Thresh is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 07:28 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

who knows, theres no explaining why computers do the weird crap they do at times lol
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 08:04 PM   #17 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

Whats also weird is, once I get passed 410mhz oc'ing my card, my performane actually decreases significantly for some reason. Just noticed that today.
Thresh is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 08:06 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

might be getting too hot, but generally thats a sign of your GPU not being able to effectively complete it's calculations, IE not enough voltage to make it completely stable...if you could run prime95 for your GPU it would have errored is basically what I'm getting at.

I've had that happen plus I've seen a lot of people thats had that happen...there aren't any artifacts and things should be going smooth, but yeah the GPU just can't effectively do it's calculations and it's generally lack of Voltage to the GPU or getting a bit too hot
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 09:08 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 131
Default

ive got my 6800gt maxed to 450/1.23Ghz, no volt mods, just suk on an nv silencer. I guess i got really lucky. I run it at 440/1.2Ghz for 24/7 use. Idles at about 50C.
__________________
P4 2.8E @ 3.5Ghz(24/7),3.72Ghz (benchmarking) 1:1
Abit IC7 Max 3
2 X 512mb OCZ PC 3700 dual channel Performance series ram
EVGA 6800GT @ 440mhz/1.2Ghz(24/7), 451/1.23Ghz (max benchable)
2X80 gig SATA RAID 0 drives
SB Audigy 2 24bit
Black X-Blade Gaming Case
Enermax 460 watt PSU
CPU Cooled By: Thermalright Xp 90 + 92 mm panaflo fan
GPU Cooled By: Arctic Cooling Nv Silencer 5 Rev. 2
_OvErClOcKeD_ is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 09:33 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
I GUESS I need to be OC'ing this PCI-E...I've got it at Ultra speeds for now just to give it time to burn in a little bit even though I haven't been playing games, been trying to get CPU and RAM stable and crap.
Dang dude, when did you go PCI-E? I thought you had that 6800GT AGP w/ the DFI nF3 board? Did you get an Ultra-D and go PCI-E?
__________________

__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.