wiring a 486's power button - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2005, 08:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to IntelUser101
Exclamation wiring a 486's power button

ok so i took an old 486 and i took it all apart to see how fast i could put it back together..what i realized is.. when slided in the 4 white blue brown and black wires..i found my surge protector blown...plz give me PROFESSIONAL answers so i dont blow my moms surge protector, im talking about a sort of 4 prongs that are in a cube shape...PLEASE! KNOW WHAT YOUR TALKING ABOUT
__________________

__________________
Smart at cell phones? help me out i accidently deleted my own cell phone\'s ##..yes i said DELETED, motorola v190, can u help? catch me on aim at usahed
IntelUser101 is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 09:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to IntelUser101
Default

the power button i need to wire..sorry i left that out
__________________

__________________
Smart at cell phones? help me out i accidently deleted my own cell phone\'s ##..yes i said DELETED, motorola v190, can u help? catch me on aim at usahed
IntelUser101 is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 10:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

ya know there are spiders and bots that crawl forums looking for open e-mails like how yours is in the sig so chances are you will get more spam that way and not just from users here.

Funny how many '15yo whiz' I keep seeing in sigs around here lol.

Anywho, concerning your problem, I don't understand what four prong thing you're talking about? Don't suppose you could get a pic or find a pic of one?
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 10:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Okay #1 what exactly are you trying to do, I cant really understand your thing.

If I can understand it, i have pinouts for just about every 486 era mobo and know alot about electrical.

From what I think your saying, I dont think what you did harmed the surge bar as well
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 04:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

I got electricuted twice using one of those damn things. I forgot to unplug the psu lol.
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 04:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

The amount of power going through the switch is not enough to overload a new surge protector. Something else's going on there.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 04:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
The amount of power going through the switch is not enough to overload a new surge protector. Something else's going on there.
Surge protectors dont give a rats *** about how much power is going thru them really, you will trip the break far before tripping almost any surge protector.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 11:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

i blew out a PSU and a surge protector at the same time one day. i was using my computer when i could hear a cracking noise that sounded alot like when a cord would be caught in a case fan, well i started to smell plastic, then i heard a loud pop, my computer shut off. i unpluged the power cord from my PSU, it MELTED TO THE SOCKET, the plug was like stringy black goo and really friggin hot (i burned my hand ) i looked at the surge protector and the light on the switch was off. the psu and surge protector have never worked since. lol
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.