Wire Sleeving/Covering - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2009, 05:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Wire Sleeving/Covering

I've been looking at my case and the wires are really ugly, not just he appearance but the way they are all over the place. I was thinking about wire sleeving, but I don't want to do every wire, just group of wires together. I was looking at something like this: Petra's Tech Shop but I don't think it's large enough (diameter) for what I want to do with it.

Take the HD wires for example, if I had a sleeve to put those in, it could keep them much tidier. Can you buy the size sleeve that is on the main mobo power cables? I don't know if I would want heatshrink, I would rather have it removeable if possible, and I don't want to mess with taking the heads apart to put the sleeve on (would most likely slide the sleeve over the heads and zip tie it where the wires go into the psu, don't want to take that apart either.

Any help is appreciated .
__________________

__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 07-14-2009, 06:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Wire Sleeving/Covering

I usually buy this type of stuff from Performance-PCs

Cable Sleeving : Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-14-2009, 09:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Wire Sleeving/Covering

Thanks! Would you recommend this: Cable FlexWrap 8' X 3" - Black Products Model: 502962 [502962] : Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come or this:Techflex PET Cable Sleeving : Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come ? The flexwrap looks a little larger, I'm just wondering what the tool is that it talks about. The techflex looks good too, not really expensive either.
__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 11:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Wire Sleeving/Covering

I bought one of those $20 sleeving kits from the local tech shop, I just ended up doing my 4870 power cables.. It came with enough sizes and lengths to do almost everything. Xoxide Wire Sleeving Kit (Black) at Xoxide!

If you get a Molex pin tool, it will help as far as taking the connectors off. Unless you are going for a certain look, sleeving is sleeving, IMO. If you take the connectors off, just do one at a time so you can look at an identical connector if you forget where each wire goes.

Heat shrink isn't that bad, and it is removable, but electrical tape can also loosen with heat exposure.


Here's the Molex pin tool
Molex Pin Removal Tool: CrazyPC Computers
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 12:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Wire Sleeving/Covering

Thanks for the links, now I just have to choose which kit I want. That last one you showed me Antec looks pretty good.
__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 05:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
nderscore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 163
Send a message via AIM to nderscore
Default Re: Wire Sleeving/Covering

I suggest wire loom for your needs. It's easier to put on and remove, plus it won't have frayed edges like the sleeving.

Corrugated Tubing, Flex Tubing, Split Loom Tubing, Flexible Plastic Tubing, Corrugated Wire Loom

Also by your description, the size you are looking for is 1/2" inner diameter.
nderscore is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 03:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Wire Sleeving/Covering

That does look like it would work better. Thanks, I'll definitely look into that .
__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 12:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Wire Sleeving/Covering

^ IMO, the loom doesn't look as good and it's not as flexible as the sleeving.. But yes, the loom is MUCH easier to install.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 02:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Wire Sleeving/Covering

Nothing looks better than a good sleeving job. With heat shrink their is no frayed ends to see.

Yes it is much more time consuming than the wire loom.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 03:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Wire Sleeving/Covering

I agree, the loom just doesn't look that good.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Button Wire to Motherboard.. ? NayNay1991x Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 12-13-2008 07:08 PM
Wire issue. help would be great! Antimatter Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 16 09-28-2008 07:37 AM
crysis omg molsen Off Topic Discussion 77 06-17-2007 03:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.