wire management NIGHTMARE!!! HELP!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2007, 12:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
anime_dude07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 181
Send a message via AIM to anime_dude07
Exclamation wire management NIGHTMARE!!! HELP!!!

well first off let me start by saying thanks to everyone who helped me out yesterday with a few random Qs and my one major problem I ran into with my first ever build. the stats in my sig are what it should be when I'm done... but I have another question that needs to be answered first. I might just be an uber noob, but:

running wires between the mobo and the mobo panel... good idea or bad idea?
__________________

__________________
2007 Rig|CM Stacker T01|E6850|TRUE 120|BFG nVIDIA nFORCE 680i SLI
4x1.0GB PC2-6400 DDR2
|eVGA 8800 GT 512MB|WD Raptor X 150GB|Seagate Barracuda 2TB|ThermalTake PurePower 600w
LG 22" Widescreen LCD
|2x LG SecurDisc DL DVD/CD RW w/LightScribe|Windows 7 64-bit|Logitech G15/G5


Pending|CM HAF 932 Blue|i5-4670K|Corsair H100i|ASRock Z87 EXTREME4
Kingston HyperX Black 2x4GB
|eVGA GTX 760 4GB|Corsair Neutron 120GB|Seagate Barracuda 2TB|Corsair HX750
2x ACER 21.5 Widescreen LED LCD
|LITE-ON DVD Burner|Windows 7 64-bit|Corsair Vengeance M65/K70|Razer Carcharias

If I helped you, give a thanks! ↓
anime_dude07 is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 12:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: wire management NIGHTMARE!!! HELP!!!

if you've got the space, and length of cable, running it behind is a decent idea. I'll be trying some interesting cable management stuff myself, but I am getting a modular psu
__________________

__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 12:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
anime_dude07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 181
Send a message via AIM to anime_dude07
Default Re: wire management NIGHTMARE!!! HELP!!!

I took both side panels off and am left with the mobo and the panel it is mounted to, and the cable is only long enough to run between the remaining panel and the mobo itself to be able to still connect to it's respective 5X2 set of posts... I just wanted to make sure it wasnt going to damage the set-up in any way...
__________________
2007 Rig|CM Stacker T01|E6850|TRUE 120|BFG nVIDIA nFORCE 680i SLI
4x1.0GB PC2-6400 DDR2
|eVGA 8800 GT 512MB|WD Raptor X 150GB|Seagate Barracuda 2TB|ThermalTake PurePower 600w
LG 22" Widescreen LCD
|2x LG SecurDisc DL DVD/CD RW w/LightScribe|Windows 7 64-bit|Logitech G15/G5


Pending|CM HAF 932 Blue|i5-4670K|Corsair H100i|ASRock Z87 EXTREME4
Kingston HyperX Black 2x4GB
|eVGA GTX 760 4GB|Corsair Neutron 120GB|Seagate Barracuda 2TB|Corsair HX750
2x ACER 21.5 Widescreen LED LCD
|LITE-ON DVD Burner|Windows 7 64-bit|Corsair Vengeance M65/K70|Razer Carcharias

If I helped you, give a thanks! ↓
anime_dude07 is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 01:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: wire management NIGHTMARE!!! HELP!!!

Post some pictures?
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 07:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: wire management NIGHTMARE!!! HELP!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by anime_dude07 View Post

running wires between the mobo and the mobo panel... good idea or bad idea?
just make sure you DON'T screw the motherboard while the wires are behind or ends of the modules will pierce through the cables and cause a short
What you can do is tuck them in instead

I wouldn't recommend it because the motherboard is gonna have to breath from the heat and the wires will block air flow to the back of the board
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 08:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: wire management NIGHTMARE!!! HELP!!!

I run wires around the board itself...
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 01:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: wire management NIGHTMARE!!! HELP!!!

see if you can put the wires behind the motherboard tray.

like I've done with my PC:
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 02:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default Re: wire management NIGHTMARE!!! HELP!!!

Apok - Good God... why do you have FIVE HDDs? Nice wire management though. I did something similar but not nearly as extreme.
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 02:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: wire management NIGHTMARE!!! HELP!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BennyV04988 View Post
Apok - Good God... why do you have FIVE HDDs?
1 x 74GB Raptor for my OS and some programs (bottom)
1 x 320GB for data (above Raptor)
3 x 750GB for data (top 3)
Quote:
Nice wire management though. I did something similar but not nearly as extreme.
I still need to put in my watercooling. But I've planned it to be very tidy.

I just need to drill a hole for the fillport, and get some distilled water.

But anyway, if you know how to use a jigsaw, you can cut some holes in the motherboard tray like I did, so you can route some wires through.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 02:22 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: wire management NIGHTMARE!!! HELP!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
see if you can put the wires behind the motherboard tray.

sweeet apok i remember flipping through that worklog you made about this PC its looking sweeet dude cant wait to see how you run the watercooling. i never kept up with that thread but now i wish i had of.

me im getting into modding cases myself i've drawn some plans up and even made a 3d model in sketchup......the dimensions arnt accurate but its just an idea
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rate the Wire Management Above You! phucng_10 Overclocking and Modding 3500 09-07-2017 12:19 PM
Cable Management. sadisticmidget Overclocking and Modding 9 08-11-2007 03:29 PM
Wire..... wire.... confusing me... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-07-2007 11:10 AM
Need help indentifying and finding a solution to convert this USB wire. Kutabare Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 08-03-2007 11:47 PM
crysis omg molsen Off Topic Discussion 77 06-17-2007 03:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.