Windows will not recognize SATA HD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2004, 10:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default Windows will not recognize SATA HD

it just says no hard drive connected when i run windows setup

i have 1 120GB SATA Western Digital HD

???
__________________

slvrstang is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 02:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

this might be a dumb question. but are all the cables connected to the Hard drive & motherboard? If so...Unplug then replug all the cables. it's possible that the cables are not fully inserted.
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 04:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Shrapnill
Default

Welcome to the wonderful world of SATA drivers.

Hopefully your mobo manufacturer provided a floppy disc with some sort of "raid driver". If not, they probably have one you can download on their website.

Even if you dont want RAID, you need to install the drivers so XP will recognise the disk.

Obtain the disc in one of the ways mentioned above and in the XP setup press F6 to load secondary drivers when prompted at the blue screen. IT will then ask you to insert the floppy... and do so.

Sorry if that was a bad explanation... Im fooking tired.

If you give us your motherboard make/model we can help you find a driver.
__________________
System specs? Lets just get down to it people:

My penis is bigger than yours.
Shrapnill is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 11:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

i have a western digital 120gb SATA drive

a k8v se deluxe mobo w/ amd 64 3200+

i have tried that "load drivers" when windows goes up but it still does not find my drive...please help me find the right driver
slvrstang is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 12:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

did you download it from the western digital website and followed the directions to make a driver floppy?
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 12:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

also...i don't know where to plug the SATA cable in

there is a SATA1 and SATA 2 and then there is an SATA Primary and SATA secondary....which one does it go it...i have tried them all to no avail
slvrstang is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 12:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ekÆsine
did you download it from the western digital website and followed the directions to make a driver floppy?

i downloaded it from ASUS
slvrstang is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 12:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

i think i got it


i installed like 5 different drivers at the same time and it worked

it needed them all i suppose not just 1 or the other
slvrstang is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 11:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Cool SATA Drives

Just noticed this forum and have a few comments.

First of all, it seems that not all motherboards supply power via the serial cable. That was the case with my Intel D845PEBT2 which is a 2.4Gh P4 system. Although that may be obvious, if your drive is not recognized it may not even be spinning. In that case use the legacy power connector.

Regarding Drivers, I just downloaded the latest one, 14 June, 2004 from Microsoft. For the Silicon Image Sil 3112 SATALink Controller built into the mother board the driver version is V1.2.0.57.

Regarding sockets, if you are not using RAID, be sure to set that up in the BIOS and use just the primary SATA socket.

Having said all that, I'm stlll not running with my 250 Gb WD Caviar drive. It is recognized by the device manager which also gives me the size, model number, and serial number, but it is not recognized by the WD diagnostics. In addition, I have a problem now which came with some windows update. The system will not connect to the Logical Disk Manager Service.

That's the next hurdle and it seems to be a Microsoft XP Pro Sp1 problem.
Don Williams is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 03:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

Why did you revive a 4 month old thread where the problem was solved?
__________________

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.