Windows 98 Box - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2013, 01:34 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Windows 98 Box

This is what I might actually do with my road cone machine, it's running a Socket A...was going to turn it into a NAS but lack of hard drive bays has kept me from doing that. Good job on the guide.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 01:37 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 74
Default Re: Windows 98 Box

I located the config.sys file and it does not contain that text. I did this exactly.
  1. Using any text editor (such as Notepad), open the Config.sys file.
  2. Locate the line that loads Emm386.exe, and then remove the following text from the beginning of the line:

    rem -- by Windows 98 setup -
  3. Save and then close the Config.sys file.
  4. Restart the computer.
__________________

Senile Animal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 02:01 AM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Windows 98 Box

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
This is what I might actually do with my road cone machine, it's running a Socket A...was going to turn it into a NAS but lack of hard drive bays has kept me from doing that. Good job on the guide.
Yea the longest lasting 98 box I had was my old socket A machine. I might actually go back to using it because it has been the most solid machine for the build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Senile Animal View Post
I located the config.sys file and it does not contain that text. I did this exactly.
  1. Using any text editor (such as Notepad), open the Config.sys file.
  2. Locate the line that loads Emm386.exe, and then remove the following text from the beginning of the line:

    rem -- by Windows 98 setup -
  3. Save and then close the Config.sys file.
  4. Restart the computer.
Maybe you need to add it? Not sure.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 02:03 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 74
Default Re: Windows 98 Box

Ill try that too. It is not that big of a deal. It eventually says em386 enabled if I ignore it. I just want to optimize the OS and thought this would help.
Senile Animal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 09:51 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Windows 98 Box

I apologize if I mucked up your thread PP
It's just that every time I think of Windows 98, it reminds me of bsod's and driver issues. 98 was good for dos based programs, and it kept forums like this one very busy
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 09:56 AM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Windows 98 Box

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
I apologize if I mucked up your thread PP
It's just that every time I think of Windows 98, it reminds me of bsod's and driver issues. 98 was good for dos based programs, and it kept forums like this one very busy
General issues and support is pretty much why I made this thread. The fixes I mention eliminate a lot of problems from the days of old. The hardware I mention and recommend I have used myself with the fixes and updates so I know they work well with the OS and give little issue. I'm not saying there won't be any problems, just after having compiled all of this and figuring out a good order to execute the install problems are very minimal. The ones that creep up are usually easily fixable.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 11:55 AM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Windows 98 Box

I agree that 98 SE is good for the old dos games, but not much else can be said for it

I can not recommend that anybody to get on line with 98 due to no support for security

If it's just for fun and format to kill time....Enjoy! (good thread for 98)
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 01:34 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Windows 98 Box

Well, there are a lot of older games that will NOT run, no matter what is done in current operating systems, even XP still broke a lot of really old games... Still have a 98 box sitting in the closet, has an old nForce2 based board with a 1400Mhz Duron I think, 512MB RAM, Geforce 2 64MB, a 20GB HDD. Amazing old machine, I bring it out once in awhile to play Sim Theme Park or WC.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 01:41 PM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Windows 98 Box

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
Well, there are a lot of older games that will NOT run, no matter what is done in current operating systems, even XP still broke a lot of really old games... Still have a 98 box sitting in the closet, has an old nForce2 based board with a 1400Mhz Duron I think, 512MB RAM, Geforce 2 64MB, a 20GB HDD. Amazing old machine, I bring it out once in awhile to play Sim Theme Park or WC.
I haven't run into any in particular, but I do have games that have some serious issues playing in any NT platform.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 02:20 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Windows 98 Box

Oregon Trail, there is also another one, forgot the name of it, but you climbed mountains and the such, really wish I remember what it was called, saw that game when I was ~5 years old... almost 20 years ago... jesus...
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.