Window popper - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2006, 06:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
Default Window popper

Whenever I close a window (for example: My Documents), a blank page of Internet Explorer pops up.

Can anyone help me?

Thanks
__________________

ManjuChu is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 10:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

run spybot:Search&destroy. sounds like a virus or some weird spyware.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 08:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

i would reformat, once u get spywarez, its bout impossible to get rid of, spybot is one of the best though
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 09:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

spyware isnt that hard to remove compared to other forms of malicuos code, like viri and trojans. i have seen some trojans that corrupt windows file sand you have to repair windows with the disc. But the 2 best i have seen are spybot s&d and adaware SE. they are both free.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 09:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
Default

But this only applies when I have Internet Explorer 7 installed.
I deleted IE 7 and nothing happened then.
ManjuChu is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 12:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ManjuChu
But this only applies when I have Internet Explorer 7 installed.
I deleted IE 7 and nothing happened then.
That's a sign to download Firefox.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 12:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrazeD
That's a sign to download Firefox.
Or Opera.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 04:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Oh, so it's not spyware problems?

Thanks anyway.
ManjuChu is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 10:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 109
Default

No it probably is spyware, but now the spyware doesn't know what to do since you deleted IE.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.6
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
2x GIGABYTE 7600GT Silent Pipe SLI @ 607/800
OCZ Platinum 2GB DDR 400 @ 220 2.5-3-3-5
Raptor 74GB 10,000 RPM
X-Fi Platinum
SeaSonic 600W
bzflag is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.