Winchester 3200 problems? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2005, 02:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Thumbs down Winchester 3200 problems?

I got this issue with my 3200:

According to quite alot at DFI forums, newer winchester's are crap overclockers, is this true? I myself have only managed 2.4 stable and it was hell getting there. Uping the FSB and increasing the voltage didn't work it was a case of random settings.

Anyway...

I decided to reset my settings cause City of Heros didn't seem to like my OC'd 3200, though Wolfenstein can for hours and Prime95 could for around 18hours.

I then added a blue cathrode to my case, and tried to OC again using the same settings for 2.4! And it kept rebooting before it reached Windows. So Now I've unconnected the cathrode, a case fan that runs on the motherboard and another one that uses a molex connector, tried the OC again and it worked!

So is that I've got 1 of the poor new batch 3200s that won't overclock? Or haven't I got enough power running my system?


System Specs:

Antec True Blue 480watt PSU (I use a 20/24 pin adapter)
DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
XFX 6800GT
__________________

hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 02:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Honestly, to me it sounds like a PSU problem. If it overclocked before and after the cathode and fan, then it sounds like you aren't getting the power you should. I am not completely positive though... anyone else know for sure?

EDIT: You could get something like Speedfan and see what the voltages are.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 02:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Winchesters are not bad overclockers.

Try overclocking again and upping the ram voltages (not by loads 2.7 would be enough.)

Check that you are getting the right voltages, your PSU could be failing (even though it is a great quality make.)
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 03:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Wait... what was I thinking... of course it isn't your processor. I have a Winchester and I overclocked it from 1.8 GHz to 2.3 GHz. It has to be something else, because your processor is great for overclocking.

wow... can you say brain fart?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 03:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
Winchesters are not bad overclockers. Try overclocking again and upping the ram voltages (not by loads 2.7 would be enough.)
Okies I'll try that, I haven't OC'd my ram though.
hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 04:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Raise the fsb means that you increase the ram speed, along with the CPU, and AGP and PCI, so put the PCI lock on to stop those. To stop your ram being overclocked you have to put the ram at a different ratio from 1:1 but than that would be a HUGE bottle neck, so don't.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 04:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

1. It's all about luck of the draw really
2. It seems like the later you wait to get the processor the worse the overclocking becomes in terms of the winnies
3. Maxing out around 2.4 is pretty common for the winchesters....although really good overclockers their actual architecture limits them to some degree....the venices architecture fixed this problem and this is why you'll see venices and diegos hitting 2.8GHz quite commonly.

Make sure you have the molex connector that needs to be plugged into your motherboard as well.......generally unless you're running SLI you can do without that extra floppy connector near the PCI-E slot......also if you've been raising the CPU HTT beyond 200 and haven't been messing around with a memory divider and haven't been paying attention to your memory OC's then the RAM is probably holding you back.
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 04:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

Molex to the motherboard? What does that do? I think I first tried it when I built it and nothing happened.

I think raising the DRAM worked, still experimenting.
__________________

hewhohasissues is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.