Will this work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2009, 11:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
apsoul's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 246
Default Will this work?

I just got an old Compaq up and running:
900MHz AMD Athlon (Thunderbird) (100MHz x9)
Compaq 06E4h mobo

The mobo has a 100MHz/133MHz jumper on it. Would changing this possibly OC my system, how much risk is associated with that (other than heat)? Also I was reading that compaq had taken another Mobo, changed the power switch and onboard usb and called it their own. Therefore I would be able to do a bios flash with the "other brand's" bios allowing me access to more "OC" options in the bios? Does this sound possible? Just tinkering here. but I would prefer to ask if I am being hazardous before I go and destroy something haha.

I may be schizophrenic, but at least I have each other :crazy:
apsoul is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 11:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,050
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Will this work?

The bios thing sounds totally made up, so don't try that lol.

The 100Mhz/133Mhz jumper is probably to set the FSB, e.g. if you have a processor with a 133mhz FSB you set the jumper to the matching setting.
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CAD, PS, 3D Work With i7 GreenMan415 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-29-2008 07:21 PM
New guts/old case/will this work? SirLucian System Upgrades 9 12-24-2008 11:49 AM
The New, Hopefully Bug Free Folding@Home Thread! macdude425 Folding @ Home 928 12-07-2008 06:18 PM
Will a EVGA 8600GTS [GDDR3] work in an ECS G31T-M with a Q9550? soarwitheagles New Systems | Building and Buying 7 12-06-2008 05:53 PM
mic wont work WDD11791 Computer Audio and Multimedia 3 11-25-2007 06:04 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.