will these bits fit togethor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2005, 11:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 91
Question will these bits fit togethor?

plz tell me if these bits will fit togethor !

Asus A8N-SLI/Deluxe nForce 4 SLI PCI-E +3GB/sec SATA +SATA/RAID 5 Skt939 +Firewire +Gigabit LAN +8ch. audio +USB2 Dual Ch. DDR (up to DDR400)

Sparkle GF 6600GT 128MB DDR PCI-E DVI & TV Out Retail

Sharkoon Gamers Stereo Headset with Microphone

Mitsumi Black 1.44MB 3.5" FDD

200 GB Western Digital Caviar SATA UDMA150 7200rpm 8MB cache (JD)

600W Silent P4/AMD +SATA cable + 12cm fan ATX



AMD (Venice) Athlon 64 3500+ 939pin 512Kb L2 Cache 90nm Retail Boxed Processor With 3 Year Warranty and Fan Included.

Corsair (TWINX1024-3200C2PT) 1024MB (2 x 512MB Matched Pair), DDR400 / PC3200, non-ECC, Unbuffered, CL2, Lifetime Warranty, Silver Heat Spreader

Aopen Chameleon 16x DVD R/RW Dual Layer Internal IDE Retail inc 3 colour bezels

MaxView FH776 17" CRT 0.28dpi 1280x1024 Beige

Newmen Red Usb 3d Crystal Optical Mouse With Red Led

Tension TSK-108B Black/Silver Slim Keyboard
__________________

1337 n00beh is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 12:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yes they will, but I would suggest:
either OCZ or G.Skill RAM. they can get much better speed than Corsair

the DFI NF4 Ultra-D motherboard, or the MSI K8N Neo 4 Platinum. Asus's boards do not give great overclocking.

the Venice's overclock really well, so good choice on that

also, what brand is the PSU?
a PSU is very important. if it dies, or is of low quality, it can take out the entire system.
some good brands are Cooler Master, Thermaltake, Enermax, Antec or OCZ.
for what you're getting, get one with at least 480W and at least 20 amps on the 12v rail
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 12:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 91
Default

that motherboard scored way over any other motherboard in a computer mag i saw for performance
1337 n00beh is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 12:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

magizines are usually rigged and dont give you true info
look at personal reviews
google "mobo" reviews
^^ type in your name
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 12:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 1337 n00beh
that motherboard scored way over any other motherboard in a computer mag i saw for performance
maybe at stock speeds, but those boards do not like overclocking.
Abit, DFI and MSI make the real overclockers boards
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 12:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 91
Default

i'll look into MSI now ( i like MSI, this ancient rig im on at the moment is MSI and its held up for a long time ).
Would this be better ram
OCZ EL Dual Channel Kit 2x512MB DDR400 PC3200 CL 2-3-2-6 (LIFETIME WARRANTY) (OCZ4001024ELDC-K)
then the corsair stuff i said earlier - only costs about $18 more
1337 n00beh is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 12:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it will overclock a lot better than the Corsair.

I would actually suggest G.Skill 2x512MB if you can, I've seen it reach DDR600 without heat spreaders
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 12:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 91
Default

they dont do G.Skill
1337 n00beh is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 12:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

who doesn't?

you can find G.Skill at newegg
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 12:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 91
Default

im English, New Egg wont ship Internationally
__________________

1337 n00beh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.