Will this setup work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2005, 01:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to mx416
Default Will this setup work?

I want to build my first computer. How does this sound, will everything work together?

Mobo/cpu
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813185060

Memory
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145439

Video card/tv tuner
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814133143

I am also going to be using wireless internet
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833124115

Case, I know I should upgrade the power supply, but I thought I would just use the one that comes with it for a while
http://www.xoxide.com/5in1combo1.html

And then I plan on using one HD for my programs and another for storing all my videos and files.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148015
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148021

And the DVD burner
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827152047

Is there anything I'm missing on this? I'm trying to keep a fairly low budget on this computer.
__________________

mx416 is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 01:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

i would get this hard drive

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144233

to replace the 80 gig, its got a bigger cache (8mb vs 2mb) and its ATA-133 instead of 100

and this hardrive to replace the 160 gig for the same reasons.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144181
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 07:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

EH sure why not go for it
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 09:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

i would go with the 160gb you cant beat 50Cents a gig
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 11:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to mx416
Default

I am getting two hard drives. I'd rather have more important data on one that does not have the OS on it. Just in case I get a virus, then I can at least unplug the HD and not have to worry about losing any data or trying to back it up
mx416 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.