Will this setup work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2005, 12:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to mx416
Default Will this setup work?

I want to build my first computer. How does this sound, will everything work together?



Video card/tv tuner

I am also going to be using wireless internet

Case, I know I should upgrade the power supply, but I thought I would just use the one that comes with it for a while

And then I plan on using one HD for my programs and another for storing all my videos and files.

And the DVD burner

Is there anything I'm missing on this? I'm trying to keep a fairly low budget on this computer.

mx416 is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 12:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
reggie_da_man's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567

i would get this hard drive


to replace the 80 gig, its got a bigger cache (8mb vs 2mb) and its ATA-133 instead of 100

and this hardrive to replace the 160 gig for the same reasons.



reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 06:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718

EH sure why not go for it
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 08:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer

i would go with the 160gb you cant beat 50Cents a gig
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 10:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to mx416

I am getting two hard drives. I'd rather have more important data on one that does not have the OS on it. Just in case I get a virus, then I can at least unplug the HD and not have to worry about losing any data or trying to back it up
mx416 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.