Will OCing get me through a bottleneck? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2008, 07:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default Will OCing get me through a bottleneck?

Hi All.

I have a game called Crysis. Plays great on my duo, but my wife wants to play and it plays somewhat ordinary on her pc (my hand me down).

Athlon 64 3000+
ga k8ns socket 754 board
6800 gs/xt 512mb (bios reads it as a 6800 gts 512)
as for ram it has 768mb of ddr 400 and i have an old stick or ddr 266 (512mb)

Firstly) is 1.3 gig of ram at 266mhz better or worse than 768mg of ram at 400mhz? (the ddr 400 slows to the 266mhz speed when its installed.)

Ram asside (i can always just buy another stick).... Is my processor or my gpu the most likely bottleneck? and will some OCing likely lift it a little.

Thirdly) have any of you OCed the above gpu or cpu/mobo
combination.... any stable OC targets to save time?

Many many thanx. Revinant99.
__________________

revinant99 is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 07:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Will OCing get me through a bottleneck?

When it comes to gaming, I think the amount of RAM takes more into play, than the speed of the RAM.

The whole system is mostly the problem here, when you're talking about a game, that can't even play max on some of the most high end systems, on a high resolution.

Many members here, have overclocked their CPU and GPU. But I would suggest, you overclock the CPU first, and get the fastest stable clock. Then work with the GPU.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 07:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Will OCing get me through a bottleneck?

Cheers for the reply B1,

I have been trawling the net for a few hours and i found the crysis official min spec.

it appears they looked at my machine and said ok... heh.

min rec:
CPU: Athlon 64 3000+/Intel 2.8GHz; Graphics: NVIDIA 6600/X800GTO (SM 2.0); RAM: 768MB/1GB; HDD: 6GB; Internet: 256k+; Optical Drive: DVD; Software: DX9.0c with Windows XP

recommended:
CPU: Dual-core CPU (Athlon X2/Pentium D)
Graphics: Nvidia 7800GTX/ATI X1800XT (SM 3.0) or DX10 equivalent
RAM: 1.5GB
HDD: 6GB
Internet: 512k+ (128k+ upstream)
Optical Drive: DVD
Software: DX10 with Windows Vista

So it appears my saving grace was wuying that card 2 years ago to play BF2

well off to install easytune 4 and load up my cpu. thanx for the advice.
revinant99 is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 08:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England, UK.
Posts: 90
Default Re: Will OCing get me through a bottleneck?

On your wifes computer - go to System Requirements Lab and pick the game from the list. Then let it do its work. Once it has finished it will tell you how well the computer will run the game and give links to hardware that will help boost your machine.

Cheers,

Michael.
__________________
92% of teenagers are always arguing what is and isn't music, if you are one of the 8% that don't give a flying fook - copy this.
ObsessedAboutPCs is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 10:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Will OCing get me through a bottleneck?

Crazy...... my system just passed the min to play Crysis

Quote:
Originally Posted by ObsessedAboutPCs View Post
On your wifes computer - go to System Requirements Lab and pick the game from the list. Then let it do its work. Once it has finished it will tell you how well the computer will run the game and give links to hardware that will help boost your machine.

Cheers,

Michael.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 10:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Will OCing get me through a bottleneck?

lol to play Crysis.
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 02:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Will OCing get me through a bottleneck?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Crazy...... my system just passed the min to play Crysis
Who would of thought.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 03:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 68
Send a message via AIM to OmegaWeapon
Default Re: Will OCing get me through a bottleneck?

Crysis is one of those games that pushes your computer to the edge. My computer can play it but even then there are some improvements that would make it run better and faster. It really is a great game though.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 4.0 Ghz
Coolermaster V8 CPU Cooler
Asus Rampage II Extreme
Nvidia GTX 280 Tri SLI
3 x 2 gig DDR3 Corsair
Thermaltake Toughpower 1200 W PSU
OmegaWeapon is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 03:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England, UK.
Posts: 90
Default Re: Will OCing get me through a bottleneck?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Crazy...... my system just passed the min to play Crysis
Ahhh its because it judges the test on DX10, not DX9 that most people play it in.
__________________
92% of teenagers are always arguing what is and isn't music, if you are one of the 8% that don't give a flying fook - copy this.
ObsessedAboutPCs is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 11:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 68
Send a message via AIM to OmegaWeapon
Default Re: Will OCing get me through a bottleneck?

I'm way too stubborn to upgrade to vista, so dx9 for me.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 4.0 Ghz
Coolermaster V8 CPU Cooler
Asus Rampage II Extreme
Nvidia GTX 280 Tri SLI
3 x 2 gig DDR3 Corsair
Thermaltake Toughpower 1200 W PSU
OmegaWeapon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ocing Arsenal.. What are the new programs? zerodayATK Overclocking and Modding 5 12-04-2007 05:16 PM
Buying a mobo, CPU and RAM for ocing thenovices New Systems | Building and Buying 5 11-14-2007 01:14 AM
OCing: X2 3600+, evga 8800, and RAM jfenwick Overclocking and Modding 45 08-25-2007 05:23 AM
Vista Ocing nerdygeek Overclocking and Modding 4 08-05-2007 07:03 PM
Computer completely froze (OC'ing) Nechen Overclocking and Modding 0 04-14-2007 07:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.